Eligibility Requirements

You must meet these requirements to be eligible for benefits:

  • Sustain bodily injury or severe emotional stress resulting from a crime.
  • Crime must be classified as a gross misdemeanor or felony.
  • File a report with law enforcement within 1 year of the date the crime occurred.
  • Provide reasonable cooperation with law enforcement. This includes giving information to help in the investigation and prosecution of the alleged offender.
  • File a timely application (within 2 years of the crime being reported to law enforcement or, for good cause, within 5 years).
  • Your claim for benefits may be denied if you participated or provoked the event that caused your injury.
  • An individual is not eligible for benefits if they've been convicted of a felony within 5 years preceding the criminal act for which they are applying where the felony is a violent offense under RCW 9.94A.030 (www.leg.wa.gov) or a crime against persons under RCW 9.94A.411 (www.leg.wa.gov), or is convicted of a felony after applying and has not completely satisfied all legal financial obligations owed prior to applying for benefits.

End of main content, page footer follows.

Access Washington official state portal

© Washington State Dept. of Labor & Industries. Use of this site is subject to the laws of the state of Washington.