Claim Process for Crime Victims

Benefits

You may be entitled to the following benefits:

  • Medical/dental benefits.
  • Wage replacement.
  • Prescription coverage.
  • Mental health treatment.
  • Death benefits, including but not limited to:
    • Grief counseling.
    • Funeral expenses.

Payer of last resort

The Crime Victims Compensation Program (CVCP) is the "payer of last resort". A set fee schedule is used to determine the medical reimbursement amount. This amount is reduced by any public or private insurance payments.

Examples of public or private insurance are:

  • Your own medical insurance.
  • Public health care such as medical coupons or VA.
  • Auto, life, or homeowner's insurance policies.

Reimbursement rate

The Crime Victims Comp Program Fee Schedule is used to reimburse providers.

Bills

What do I have to pay?

For claims costs less than $50,000 you should not pay any expenses relating to an allowed open claim. Providers must bill your public or private insurance first then bill CVCP.

By law, you aren't responsible for the difference between the amount the provider charges and the rate we pay.

For claims costs more than $50,000 you are responsible for expenses not previously processed under your claim.

End of main content, page footer follows.

Access Washington official state portal

© Washington State Dept. of Labor & Industries. Use of this site is subject to the laws of the state of Washington.