What's New for Crime Victims


New applications for victims and homicide survivors. The applications have been redesigned to make them easier to complete.

July 1, 2015

The maximum benefit eligible per claim increases from $50,000 to $190,000.
Medical benefits increase to $150,000. All other non-medical benefits are limited to $40,000.

The new medical limit will apply to all current, open claims. It will also apply to claims reopened after July 1, 2015. Claimants that have previously received $150,000 or more in benefits will not be eligible to reopen their claim.

July 24, 2015

Substitute Senate Bill 5897 becomes effective. The purpose of the legislation is early identification of abuse and to prevent a child from further traumatization or injury.

The Crime Victims Compensation Program will be able to pay for examinations of suspected child victims of assault. The program will be a secondary payer to other insurance. The exam must be conducted within seventy-five days of the filing of a petition for dependency.

Billing forms will be available under the Forms and Publication section of this web site.



End of main content, page footer follows.

Access Washington official state portal

  © Washington State Dept. of Labor & Industries. Use of this site is subject to the laws of the state of Washington.