Site Alert

WorkerWeb and ProviderWeb online claim filing are down for maintenance until Monday, October 27th. We apologize for any inconvenience.

Trucking Reporting Requirements

Every trucking firm operating as an intrastate carrier or a combined interstate and intrastate carrier must:

  • Insure their Washington employees through Washington State industrial insurance and complete trucking reporting requirements;
    or
  • Self insure with the state of Washington.

Interstate trucking is the hauling of goods that either originates out-of-state or have a destination that is out-of-state.

Intrastate trucking is the hauling of goods that originate within the state and have a destination within the state.

Washington employers operating exclusively in interstate trucking or foreign trucking must:

  • Insure their Washington employees through the state of Washington;
    or
  • Self insure with the state of Washington;
    or
  • Have out-of-state workers' compensation for their Washington State employees, provided that:
    • The insurance providers state workers' compensation allows for the coverage;
      and
    • The employer provides L&I with copies of their current industrial insurance policy upon request.
      • Employers who fail to provide copies of their current industrial insurance policy upon request will be considered an unregistered employer and subject to penalties.

Trucking quarterly reports

Trucking firms insuring their liability through Washington State industrial insurance must:

  • Keep and preserve all original books and time records. This includes supporting information from drivers' logs for period of 3 calendar years plus 3 months;
    and
  • Report actual hours worked. This includes time spent loading and unloading trucks for each driver they employ up to a maximum of 520 hours per quarter.

Actual hours worked doesn't include time when the truck is parked and the driver is breaking for meals, rest, or sleep.

The Washington employees who are mechanics, dispatchers, office staff, and others are reportable to Washington State industrial insurance. Generally, insurance obtained from out-of-state doesn't cover the firm's non-driver employees.

Failure of employers to keep accurate records of actual hours worked for their employees will result in L&I estimating work hours. Hours are calculated by dividing gross payroll wages by the state minimum wage for each worker for whom records aren't kept. In no case will the estimated or actual hours reported exceed 520 hours per calendar quarter for each worker.

End of main content, page footer follows.

Access Washington official state portal

© Washington State Dept. of Labor & Industries. Use of this site is subject to the laws of the state of Washington.