Site Alert

Most of our online systems will be unavailable from 6 a.m. to 2 p.m. on Saturday, November 22, 2014, for scheduled system upgrades. We apologize for any inconvenience.

Appeal a Claim Decision

Employers, injured workers and attending medical providers who disagree with L&I decisions may submit an appeal to the Board of Industrial Insurance Appeals (BIIA) (www.biia.wa.gov).

File your appeal in time

Submit your appeal to the BIIA as soon as possible. Legal time limits apply:

  • 60 days to appeal a claim decision or a payment decision.
  • 15 days to appeal a vocational determination.
  • 20 days for providers to appeal a billing decision.

How to submit an appeal

Your appeal should include:

  • Claim number and worker's name (make sure this information is on every page).
  • Date and description of the L&I decision or order.
  • Reason(s) for your protest (why you disagree with the decision).
  • Relief you are requesting.
  • Your name, address and telephone number.
  • City in which you would like the proceedings to be held.
  • Supporting information you consider important.

Submit an appeal online or by mail:

Additional information

RCW 51.52.050 (www.leg.wa.gov)
Service of departmental action — Demand for repayment — Reconsideration or appeal
.

RCW 51.52.060 (www.leg.wa.gov)
Notice of appeal — Time — Cross-appeal — Departmental options
.

End of main content, page footer follows.

Access Washington official state portal

© Washington State Dept. of Labor & Industries. Use of this site is subject to the laws of the state of Washington.