Site Alert

Claim & Account Center is currently unavailable at this time. We are working quickly to resolve the issue.

Reapplying for IME Provider Number

Reapplication is required and will be due on a specific date

All active IME providers must reapply for approval every 3 years or when requirements change. We will notify you by mail 60 days before your due date for reapplication.

How to reapply for your IME provider number

How IME requirements have changed

Here is a summary of revised administrative laws, effective March 1, 2013:

  • All providers must reapply in the first year of the new rule.
  • A firm's medical director must be an approved IME examiner.
  • If examiners provide fewer than 768 hours per year of patient-related services, they must submit documentation showing fulfilled continuing education (CE) hours as required for their respective state licensure. The credits must be relevant either to IMEs or to keeping current in their specialty.
  • Examiners may have until March 1, 2014 to comply with the new continuing education (CE) documentation requirement.
  • Additional credentialing standards, similar to most health plans in the state.

Review the laws

Washington Administrative codes effective February 25, 2013:

Revised Code of Washington giving L&I the authority to change rules
 51.32.055, 51.32.112, 51.32.114, and 51.36.070.

End of main content, page footer follows.

Access Washington official state portal

© Washington State Dept. of Labor & Industries. Use of this site is subject to the laws of the state of Washington.