Plan Development


Encumbrance forms

Routing sheets


Helpful links


WAC 296-19A-100: What reports are required when vocational rehabilitation plan development services are completed? (
(1) Progress reports.
(2) Vocational rehabilitation plan.
(3) Closing report.

About plan development

A vocational provider works with the injured worker in developing a plan. The vocational plan development provides a written rationale identifying the strategies to achieve the following:

  • Occupational goal.
  • Time and costs involved.
  • Documentation to support the feasibility of the goal.
  • Responsibilities of the primary parties.

Please remember to do the following:

  • Review previous plans in the file to ensure accuracy of time and money expended.
  • Complete the plan staffing with the unit vocational consultant prior to writing the vocational plan.
  • Submit a plan within 90 days.
  • Use the appropriate cover sheet for plans submitted for approval.
  • Submit plans for approval 30 days prior to plan start date to ensure the plan is approved in a timely manner and injured workers have time to select their Training Option.

What if a plan requires certification?

L&I no longer requests back up goals for proposed retraining plans that require certifications to establish employability.

For occupations requiring certification(s) to establish employability, remember to do the following:

  • At least every 14 calendar days contact the worker and, if necessary, the trainer or appropriate representative of the training program or school.
  • Identify and analyze barriers preventing completion of the plan and actions taken by the vocational rehabilitation provider to address those barriers.
  • Submit an assessment of the worker's employability status at the time the plan stopped.


What if an on-the-job training plan is recommended?

When recommending an on-the-job training plan, providers should do the following:

  • Ensure that the trainer understands the training fees aren't payable in full as soon as the training starts.
  • Recommend that the training fee be scheduled to pay in blocks of 2 to 3 month periods and trainers can bill only after the billing time period starts.
  • Address this issue when the formal trainer doesn't fall into the definition of a school but the training is presented in quarters or semesters.
  • Consider if on-the-job training (OJT), or OJT in combination with formal training is appropriate. VRCs may contact the VSS to request an extension if additional time is needed to submit an OJT training plan.
  • Be aware that if an OJT is an add on to formal training that is not part of the published college curriculum and the OJT is a for profit employer they must pay the legal minimum wage.

Statutory pensions

Providers may receive a referral for plan development on a statutory pension. RCW 51.08.160 ( defines "permanent total disability" as the loss of both legs, or arms, or 1 leg and 1 arm, total loss of eyesight, paralysis, or other condition permanently incapacitating the worker from performing gainful employment. Because a statutory pension is based upon physical loss alone, the statutory pensioner can receive pension benefits and work at the same time.

End of main content, page footer follows.

Access Washington official state portal

  © Washington State Dept. of Labor & Industries. Use of this site is subject to the laws of the state of Washington.