Rules Under Development

General reporting rules, classifications, audit and recordkeeping, rates and rating system for Washington workers' compensation insurance

Chapter 296-17, WAC

Product Demonstrators

A department study identified the need for a single classification that appropriately rates product demonstrator services according to the industry’s level of hazard. The proposed subclassification is a special exception available to product demonstrator services, manufacturers, and wholesalers if hiring product demonstrators with no other exposure to their business’ operations. At today’s rates, the base rate for product demonstrators would be about 9 cents per hour higher for firms currently reporting product demonstrators in Classification 6303 (outside sales) and 28 cents per hour lower for any firm currently reporting product demonstrators in Classification 7106-01 (temporary staffing services, retail or wholesale store operations). The changes were adopted 4/1/2013 and became effective on 1/1/2014.

1/1/2014

Rule Changes Effective

4/1/2013

PDF: Adoption (Rule-Making Order CR-103)

PDF: Adopted Rule Language

1/23/2013

Comments Due

1/22/2013

Public Hearing

11/6/2012

PDF: Proposed Rulemaking (CR 102)

PDF: Proposed Rule Language

9/4/2012

PDF: Preproposal (CR-101)

End of main content, page footer follows.

Access Washington official state portal

© Washington State Dept. of Labor & Industries. Use of this site is subject to the laws of the state of Washington.