Site Alert

Claim & Account Center and Secure Message Center are currently experiencing intermittent slowdowns. We are working to resolve this issue as soon as possible. We apologize for any inconvenience.

Report and Investigate Accidents, Injuries and Near Misses

Note: Employers must report to L&I the death or in-patient hospitalization of any employee (within 8 hours) and any non-hospitalized amputation or loss of eye (within 24 hours) due to an on-the-job injury by calling 1‑800‑423‑7233.

Have a way for employees to report unsafe conditions or potential hazards

Give each of your employees a wallet card (F242-400-000) to use in case of injury

Have accident and injury report forms (28 KB DOC) for every one to use

    • Another basic requirement, it also gives you valuable management information and helps prevent injuries from recurring.

Keep an OSHA 300 Log (www.osha.gov) (if required)

    • Most small businesses aren't required to keep one, but the decision tree will tell you if your are.

Have an effective system for investigating accidents, incidents or near misses

    • Finding the root causes helps you eliminate hazards before they cost you any more money. And investigating near misses means you catch them before they cost you anything.
    • See guidelines (55 KB DOC) on how to determine root causes.

Use results of your investigations to update your APP

    • Expensive lessons shouldn't be forgotten.

End of main content, page footer follows.

Access Washington official state portal

  © Washington State Dept. of Labor & Industries. Use of this site is subject to the laws of the state of Washington.

Help us improve