Site Alert

Claim & Account Center is currently experiencing intermittent slowdowns. We are working to resolve this problem as soon as possible. We apologize for any inconvenience.

Powered Industrial Trucks (Lift trucks, Forklifts)

Forklifts are powerful and dangerous. Workers must be 18 years old and well trained before they can drive them. Employers must ensure all drivers are trained, evaluated, and retrained as required

Forklifts are powerful and dangerous. Workers must be at least 18 years old and well-trained (767 KB PDF) before they can drive them.

Employers must ensure all drivers are trained, evaluated and retrained as necessary (767 KB PDF).

Photo courtesy of L&I.

Powered industrial trucks include but are not limited to forklifts, order pickers, motorized pallet jacks, and cargo haulers. Powered industrial trucks allow workers to move and organize materials and can either be driven or walk-behind.

Powered industrial trucks can expose workers to hazards such as the following:

  • Being struck.
  • Moving parts.
  • Falls.
  • Tip overs.
  • Falling objects or materials.
  • Carbon monoxide from exhaust.
  • Contact with corrosive battery acid.

These hazards could lead to serious injuries that can result in hospitalization or death.

Employers can eliminate hazards by implementing a written Accident Prevention Program and a Chemical Hazard Communication Program and by ensuring operators are trained on each type of powered industrial truck per the manufacturer's specifications and based off specific job and site hazards.

Related Topics

More help from L&I


For general information, call 1-800-423-7233.

End of main content, page footer follows.

Access Washington official state portal

  © Washington State Dept. of Labor & Industries. Use of this site is subject to the laws of the state of Washington.

Help us improve