Reporting Deaths, Probable Deaths, and In-patient Hospitalizations

Call 1-800-423-7233 or visit an L&I office to report a:

  • workplace death (that happens within 30 days of an incident).
  • workplace injury that is possibly fatal.
  • in-patient (overnight) hospitalization related to the workplace (that happens within 30 days of an incident).

Employers are responsible to make sure reports are made within 8 hours of an incident, or within 8 hours of learning about it.

When reporting, you must provide:

  • the name of the establishment.
  • the location, time and date of the incident.
  • the number of fatalities, hospitalized employees, or pesticide exposures.
  • a brief description of the incident.

Rules

Resources

Related Links

End of main content, page footer follows.

Access Washington official state portal

© Washington State Dept. of Labor & Industries. Use of this site is subject to the laws of the state of Washington.