Safety & Health Video Library & Resource Center Policy

Printable Version

Library materials are available for loan in Washington State only.

  • All transactions must be made through the Safety & Health Video Library & Resource Center.
  • Videos are checked out only to you solely for your use.
  • You may not at any time loan them to someone else.

Videos must be returned on time

  • Three late returns will result in immediate cancellation of borrowing privileges.
  • You must return videos by traceable carrier.

Traceable Shipping Only

  • Your only cost for use of the video materials is the cost of return shipping by traceable carrier such as UPS or Fed Ex.
  • Delayed shipping of videos must be by guaranteed overnight delivery service.
  • If you prefer to use the US Postal Service, you must use registered mail only.
  • If you or your shipper loses or damages a video or DVD, you will be charged for the full replacement cost at the current vendor’s price, plus taxes, shipping, and handling.
  • When shipping by UPS or Fed Ex (or some other commercial shippers) your package is automatically insured for only $100. You may want to purchase additional coverage.
  • For your information, the average cost of each VHS or DVD is $500.

All borrowers, including state employees, must use a traceable shipper unless personally delivering videos to the Central Office Service Location in Tumwater during regular operating hours.

Respect the Copyright

  • Unless specifically noted in the catalog and on the materials themselves, all library materials are fully protected by copyright under Title 17 of the United States Code of Federal Regulations.
  • Unauthorized duplication of copyrighted materials will result in immediate cancellation of borrowing privileges and possible fines under Federal law.

One week loan

  • You can borrow up to five videos for 1 week.

Six Month Feature

  • You can schedule videos up to six months in advance.

Advance Notice

  • Please give us one week notice before you want to show videos. The videos will
    arrive 1-2 business days before your show date.
  • Please use the current Reservation Form posted on line to order videos.
  • Thurston County residents must pick up and return videos in person. Allow at least
    two days for scheduling and one day for pick-up.

Handle videos with care

  • Please be sure to rewind all VHS videos and place each one correctly in its proper
    case.
  • VHS videos can be easily damaged by forcing them into cases backwards or
    upside-down.
  • DVDs, if not securely fastened on the hub, will slide around in the case causing
    scratches and damage during shipment.
  • Protect videos from excessive heat or inclement weather during shipment.
  • Video media damaged beyond repair will be charged to you at current replacement
    cost as if it were lost.

Returning videos

  • When using a delivery service such as UPS or FedEx, use the printed address on the
    reverse side of your shipping label.
  • If you choose to ship via US POSTAL SERVICE Registered Mail we recommend that
    you purchase insurance to protect you in case of loss.
  • Address video shipments to:
    Department of Labor & Industries,
    Safety & Health Video Library
    PO Box 44607
    Olympia, WA 98504-4607.

End of main content, page footer follows.

Access Washington official state portal

© Washington State Dept. of Labor & Industries. Use of this site is subject to the laws of the state of Washington.