Site Alert

1/27/2015 11:48 a.m. - We are currently experiencing problems with our online systems. You may experience slowdowns or delays. We apologize for any inconvenience.

Report a death, hospitalization

Call 1-800-423-7233 or visit an L&I office to report a:

  • workplace death (that happens within 30 days of an incident).
  • workplace injury that is possibly fatal.
  • in-patient hospitalization related to the workplace (that happens within 30 days of an incident).

Employers are responsible to make sure reports are made within 8 hours of an incident, or within 8 hours of learning about it.

When reporting, you must provide:

  • the name of the establishment.
  • the location, time and date of the incident.
  • the number of fatalities, hospitalized employees, or pesticide exposures.
  • a brief description of the incident.

More information on fatalities & hospitalizations.


End of main content, page footer follows.

Access Washington official state portal

© Washington State Dept. of Labor & Industries. Use of this site is subject to the laws of the state of Washington.