Continuing Education

Continuing education information for electrical administrators, master electricians, electricians and providers

Get approved Continuing Education course (CEUs) lists below.

Continuing education requirements for renewal

If you are an Electrical Administrator, Master Electrician or Electrician, you are required to complete 24 hours of continuing education course work in the three (3) years between your certification renewals:

  • 8 hours of your CEUs must be on currently adopted National Electrical Code changes.
  • 4 hours must be on currently adopted Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 19.28 and related Washington Administrative Codes (WAC).
  • The remaining 12 hours of continuing education credit can be your choice from the list of approved courses below.

Avoid late renewal

You can renew up to 90 days before your certification expires. Even if you have not completed the required CEUs as your renewal date approaches, you can submit your renewal application and fee to L&I.

Your certificate will become inactive. Inactive status allows you to avoid the late penalty and re-exam that result from being late.

You cannot work as an Electrician, Master Electrician or as an Electrical Administrator without an active certificate on your person. You must complete the required hours of continuing education and your class provider must post your credits to the L&I Trades Education Roster Reporting System before your active certificate can be issued.

Check your continuing education and certificate status

If you are unsure what continuing education has been reported, or the status of your certificate, check your record in L&I's Look up a Contractor or tradesperson to see what courses have been reported and may be considered for renewal will be listed.

Approved Continuing Education Courses (CEUs)

Courses listed below are for Electrician certification renewal only and cannot be used to qualify for a Trainee certificate renewal. (Find Basic Trainee Classes here.)

For course schedules, contact the course sponsor named in the lists below. Courses are good for three years from initial approval. Before selecting a course, verify the course will not expire before you complete it. Available continuing education courses include:

Courses specifically for combination 03 or 03A specialty plumber-electricians in the pumping industry:

(Trainees in the pumping industry must take Basic Trainee Classes to renew their training certificate.)

Washington Administrative Code 296-46B-970 rule regarding Electrical Continuing Education.


Information for Electrical Continuing Education/Basic Classroom Course Providers

End of main content, page footer follows.

Access Washington official state portal

© Washington State Dept. of Labor & Industries. Use of this site is subject to the laws of the state of Washington.