Site Alert

Claim & Account Center and Secure Message Center are currently experiencing intermittent slowdowns. We are working to resolve this issue as soon as possible. We apologize for any inconvenience.

Basic Classroom Instruction

Classes Required for Electrical Trainees

What classes are required for electrical trainees?

See approved basic trainee classes (315 KB PDF).

Check carefully — some classes may have expired.

When do I have to renew my electrical trainee certificate?

An electrical trainee's certificate must be renewed every two (2) years.

How many hours of classroom instruction are required to activate or renew my electrical trainee certificate?

Electrical trainees must complete 48 hours of basic trainee classes in order to renew/activate.

What type of courses do I need take to renew my electrical trainee certificate?

Make sure the classes you take for your electrical trainee renewal are approved as Basic Trainee Classes.

The basic trainee classes approved for electrical trainee renewal are different from the continuing education courses approved for electricians, electrical administrators, and master electricians.

No first aid-, internet-, or correspondence-based courses will be credited toward renewal.

Note: Courses approved for electrician, electrical administrator, and master electrician renewal requirements will not be credited to an electrical trainee certificate.

Avoid a penalty for late renewal of your electrical trainee certificate

Inactive status allows you to avoid the penalty that results from being late.

You can renew up to 90 days before your training certificate expires, so even if you have not finished the required basic trainee classes as your renewal date approaches, submit your renewal application and fee to L&I ahead of time, and your certificate will become inactive until

  • you finish the required hours of basic trainee classes, and
  • your class provider posts your credits to the L&I Trades Education Roster Reporting System.

Note: You cannot work on any electrical job without an active training certificate on your person.


For more information

Basic trainee class and instructor applications:

End of main content, page footer follows.

Access Washington official state portal

  © Washington State Dept. of Labor & Industries. Use of this site is subject to the laws of the state of Washington.

Help us improve