Washington State Family Leave Act

The Washington State Family Leave Act (FLA) (2006) is enforced by the Department of Labor & industries under the following three circumstances:

  1. In the case of a pregnancy, when a woman works for an employer who has 50 or more employees within 75 miles of the pregnant woman’s worksite, and she has worked for the employer at least one year and she has worked 1,250 hours in the past 12 months, she will qualify for an additional 12 weeks of the state family leave (FLA) in addition to the pregnancy disability leave ordered off by her health care provider.  This will give her more total protected leave from work  than the leave offered under the federal Family Medical Leave Act (FMLA).
  2. In a case where the employee qualifies for FMLA (50 employees within 75 miles, one year or more tenure, and having worked 1,250 hours in the past 12 months) and the employee wishes to use the leave to care for a registered domestic partner with a serious health condition.  In this case the employee will qualify for the state family leave (FLA) but not for the federal FMLA.
  3. If a qualifying employee exhaust all or part of their FMLA for an exigent reason related to a military deployment or for military caregiver leave, then they may have access to all 12 weeks of their state family leave for self care or the care of a seriously ill family member. See FMLA Military Family Leave Entitlements.

For more detailed information:

Acrobat PDF file Washington State Family Leave Act Q&A (122 KB PDF).
Acrobat PDF file Table of Family Care and Family Leave Laws (131 KB PDF)- Provides a comparison of state and federal laws regarding leave for pregnancy and other family care issues.

End of main content, page footer follows.

Access Washington official state portal

© Washington State Dept. of Labor & Industries. Use of this site is subject to the laws of the state of Washington.