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Care Act (RCW 49.12.265; WAC 296-130)

Family

Applies to all employers who provide a paid leave benefit

Does not apply if employee has no paid leave available or is not yet entitled to use earned paid leave (as in during probationary period)
Employees can use their choice of earned paid leave such as sick leave, vacation, holiday, PTO and some short-term disability plans for
family care purposes

Family members included in the Family Care Act are: minor children with health condition requiring treatment or supervision; spouses,
registered domestic partners, adult children, parents, parents-in-law and grandparents with serious health condition or emergency condition
Includes use of paid leave to care for a child < 18 with a health condition that requires treatment or supervision, including preventive care
Includes use of paid leave to care for an adult child > 18 who cannot care for him or herself because of disability

Includes short-term care of a spouse or registered domestic partner temporarily disabled because of pregnancy or childbirth

Leave Act (FLA) (RCW 49.78)

Like the federal Family Medical Leave Act (“FMLA”), the FLA provides job protection when leave is taken for a qualifying reason

Covers employers who employ > 50 employees during twenty or more calendar weeks during the current or previous year

Eligible employees are employees who worked for at least 12 months for the employer from whom leave is requested and 1,250 hours in
past 12 months for the employer from whom leave is requested

The FLA provides 12 weeks of leave during a 12-month period — these weeks will usually run concurrently with FMLA leave

At this time, L&I enforces only: 1) leave benefits for eligible employees to care for a registered domestic partner with a serious health
condition, 2) leave benefits that remain after an employee has exhausted FMLA leave for an exigent deployment reason or as a military
caregiver, and 3) additional family leave benefits for women who qualify for pregnant disability leave under the Washington State Law
Against Discrimination (WLAD)

Unless one of the circumstances above applies, L&l will not enforce the FLA

Eligible employees can enforce their rights to protected family and medical leave under the FMLA through the U.S. Department of Labor or a
private civil action

The 12 weeks of FLA is in addition to any leave taken because an employee is temporarily disabled by pregnancy or childbirth (“pregnancy
disability leave”)

Pregnancy disability leave is covered by the WLAD, enforced by the Washington Human Rights Commission www.hum.wa.gov

Leave is unpaid unless employee has paid leave to substitute

Leave for Victims of Domestic Violence, Sexual Assault, & Stalking (RCW 49.76)

Provides job protection for employees who are victims or whose family members are victims of domestic violence, sexual assault or stalking
Family members include a child, a spouse, a parent, a parent-in-law, a grandparent or a person the employee is dating


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=49.12.265
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=296-130
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=49.78
http://www.hum.wa.gov/
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=49.76

Leave may be taken for legal or law enforcement assistance, medical treatment, counseling, obtaining services from a shelter or a victim’s
advocate program, or for safety planning or relocation

Provides as much leave as is reasonable under the circumstances

Leave is typically without pay

All public and private employers are covered, regardless of size

If no emergency or unforeseen circumstances exist, the employee must give advance notice of intent to take leave consistent with the
employer’s stated policy for requesting such leave

The employee must give notice no later than the end of the first day of the leave to qualify, even in emergency circumstances

Leave for Spouses of Deployed Military Personnel (RCW 49.77)

Provides job protection for spouses or registered domestic partners of military personnel (active duty, national guard, or reserves)
All employers, public and private, are covered, regardless of size.
An employee who works = 20 hours per week on average is covered
Covered employees can take up to 15 days unpaid leave to spend time together after receiving notice of an impending call or order to active
duty and during the military member’s leave from deployment during times of military conflict
o This law does not provide for leave at the end of a deployment
Leave is without pay unless the employee has accrued paid leave and chooses to substitute paid leave for unpaid leave
Employees must give notice of intent to take military family leave within five business days of receiving official notice of the deployment or
the leave from deployment in order for the leave to qualify for job protection

Leave for Certain Emergency Services Personnel (RCW 49.12.460)

Public and private employers who employed = 20 full time equivalent employees in the previous year are covered

Volunteer firefighters, reserve officers or civil air patrol members are covered

Provides job protection to covered employees responding to, working at, or returning from a fire alarm or emergency call

Volunteer firefighters must be on the alarm or emergency call and ordered to remain at the scene by the commanding authority in order to
be covered

Does not provide leave for participating in training or other nonemergency activities

Complaints must be filed within 90 days

Federal Law — U.S. Department of Labor
Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) (29 CFR 825)

Employers with > 50 employees for each working day during 20 or more calendar workweeks

Employees employed by the employer for at least 12 months with 1,250 hours of service during 12-month period preceding the leave
Provides job protection for 12 weeks’ leave to care for self or family member with serious health condition: includes spouse, child, or parent
L&l has no enforcement authority — call U.S. Department of Labor, Seattle District Office, at 206-398-8039 or visit the U.S. Department of
Labor Wage and Hour Division’s webpage on FMLA



http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=49.77
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=49.12.460
gi-bin/text-idx?c=ecfr&sid=d178a2522c85f1f401ed3f3740984fed&rgn=div5&view=text&node=29:3.1.1.3.54&idno=29#se29.3.825_1102
http://www.dol.gov/whd/fmla/

Washington Leave Law

Paid or Unpaid
Leave

Leave Allowed

Employer - Employee
Criteria

Family Care Act (FCA)
RCW 49.12.265
WAC 296-130

Paid leave only;

The FCA only applies
when employees has
earned paid leave

Use of any or all of employee’s earned paid time off for
care of a sick family member;

Family member = child, spouse, registered domestic
partner (RDP), parent, parent-in-law or grandparent

No size requirement;

Applies to all employers who provide
a paid leave benefit

Family Leave Act (FLA)

Superseded by the FMLA where
provisions are similar

RCW 49.78
WAC 296-135

May be unpaid leave;

Employee may choose
or employer may
require substitution of
paid leave for unpaid
leave

Employee may take 12 weeks to care for RDP with serious
health condition;

Employee who took pregnancy disability leave may take
12 weeks of parental leave after period of pregnancy
disability is over

Note: FLA runs concurrently with FMLA except during
pregnancy disability leave

Employee working at worksite with

> 50 employees or worksite with < 50
employees if employer employs > 50
employees within 75 miles of the
worksite

Employee with 1,250 hours of service
in previous 12 months for employer
from whom leave is requested

Domestic Violence Leave

RCW 49.76

Employee may choose
between unpaid leave
or accrued paid leave

“Reasonable leave” for victims of domestic violence,
sexual assault or stalking and family members of victims in
order to seek legal or law enforcement assistance, legal
proceedings, treatment by health care provider, counseling,
shelter or social services, safety planning or relocation

Family member = child, spouse, RDP, parent, parent-in-
law, grandparent or person with whom the employee has a
dating relationship

All employers and employees;

No eligibility requirements

Military Family Leave Act
(MFLA)

RCW 49.77

Unpaid leave unless
employee elects to
substitute accrued paid
leave

Employee who is spouse of military personnel may take 15
days’ leave per deployment prior to deployment or when
spouse is on leave from deployment

All employers;

Employees who work > 20 hours per
week on average

Leave for Certain Volunteer
Emergency Services Personnel

RCW 49.12.460

Unpaid leave

Leave related to an alarm of fire or an emergency call for
volunteer firefighters and reserve officers;

Leave related to emergency service operation for civil air
patrol members

Employers who had > 20 full time
equivalent employees in the previous
year



http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=49.12.265
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=296-130
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=49.78
http://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=296-135
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=49.76
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=49.77
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=49.12.460

