L&I News

See more More news releases

Dec. 30, 1998

Minimum wage increase effective Jan. 1

TUMWATER - Employers are reminded the minimum wage increases to $5.70 per hour for workers in Washington state effective Jan. 1, 1999.

Although there are different employment standards for agricultural and non-agricultural workers, the minimum wage increase applies to all workers 16 and older. Workers under 16 can receive no less than 85 percent of the new minimum wage and also may be covered under the federal minimum wage guidelines.

Under state law, tips cannot be counted toward the minimum wage.

The increase is the result of Initiative 688, approved overwhelmingly by voters Nov. 3. The initiative provides for a second increase Jan. 1, 2000 to $6.50 and authorizes Labor & Industries to adjust the minimum wage by the rate of inflation every year beginning in 2001.

Posters for both agricultural and non-agricultural workers with the new minimum wage requirements are available from any L&I service location.

###

End of main content, page footer follows.

Access Washington official state portal

© Washington State Dept. of Labor & Industries. Use of this site is subject to the laws of the state of Washington.