L&I News

See more More news releases

September 18, 2000

Minimum wage increases to $6.71 $6.72 per hour Jan. 1
(See also Sept. 29 news release.)

TUMWATER – Workers earning minimum wage in Washington state will make $6.71 $6.72 per hour starting Jan. 1, 2001, a 22- 21-cent-per-hour increase over the current minimum wage.

The recalculation is the result of an initiative approved by the voters in 1998 tying the minimum wage to changes in the federal Consumer Price Index. The minimum wage will be recalculated each year and announced in late September.

The new wage applies to workers 18 and older across the state, in both agricultural and non-agricultural jobs.

Sixteen and 17-year-olds also will receive the raise under a rule that says they earn the same minimum wage as adults (Washington Administrative Code 296-125-043).

For more information on minimum wage, go to the Labor & Industries web site: /scs/workstandards/minwage.htm

###

For media information, contact: 
L&I Public Affairs at 360-902-5400 or publicaffairs@lni.wa.gov

End of main content, page footer follows.

Access Washington official state portal

© Washington State Dept. of Labor & Industries. Use of this site is subject to the laws of the state of Washington.