L&I News

See more More news releases

Sept. 28, 2001

Minimum wage increases to $6.90 per hour Jan. 1, 2002

TUMWATER - Workers earning minimum wage in Washington state will be paid $6.90 per hour starting Jan. 1, 2002, 18 cents an hour more than the current rate.

The state's minimum wage is recalculated each year in September as a result of an initiative approved by voters in 1998. It tied the minimum wage to changes in the federal Consumer Price Index for urban wage earners and clerical
workers (CPI-W).

For the 12 months ending August 2001, the nationwide CPI-W increased 2.658 percent over August 2000. Therefore, Washington's current minimum wage of $6.72 will increase
2.658 percent, to $6.90.

The new wage applies to workers 18 and older across the state, in both agricultural and non-agricultural jobs.

Sixteen- and 17-year-olds also will receive the raise under a rule that says they earn the same minimum wage as adults (Washington Administrative Code 296-125-043).

For more information on minimum wage, go to the Labor & Industries web site at www.LNI.wa.gov/scs/workstandards/minwage.htm.

###

End of main content, page footer follows.

Access Washington official state portal

© Washington State Dept. of Labor & Industries. Use of this site is subject to the laws of the state of Washington.