L&I News

See more More news releases

December 23, 2008

New minimum wage takes effect Jan. 1

TUMWATER – Washington’s minimum wage increases 48 cents to $8.55 an hour beginning Jan. 1, 2009.

Washington’s minimum wage applies to workers in both agriculture and non-agricultural jobs, although 14- and 15-year-olds may be paid 85 percent of the adult minimum wage, or $7.27 an hour.

The Department of Labor & Industries adjusts the state’s minimum wage each year in September as required by Initiative 688, which Washington state voters approved in 1998. The initiative requires the state to adjust the minimum wage according to the change in the federal “CPI-W,” which is a national index covering the cost of goods and services needed for day-to-day living. That index rose 5.9 percent during the 12 months ending Aug. 31, 2008.

Free minimum wage and worker-rights posters are available from any L&I office or by calling 1‑866-219-7321 or downloading from the L&I Web site at Wages.Lni.wa.gov.

# # #

For media information: Elaine Fischer, L&I, 360-902-5413 or nele235@Lni.wa.gov

End of main content, page footer follows.

Access Washington official state portal

© Washington State Dept. of Labor & Industries. Use of this site is subject to the laws of the state of Washington.