L&I News

See more More news releases

Dec. 29, 2009

Reminder: No increase to Washington's minimum wage in 2010

TUMWATER – The Department of Labor & Industries today reminded employers and workers that the minimum wage in Washington will not increase in 2010. It will remain at $8.55 an hour because the Consumer Price Index (CPI) did not increase in the past 12 months.

This is the first time there is no increase in the state’s minimum wage since voters passed an initiative 11 years ago indexing it to the CPI.

Employers may continue using the current minimum wage poster for another year.

More information is available at Wages.Lni.wa.gov or by calling 360-902-5316 or 1-866-219-7321.

###

For media information: Elaine Fischer, L&I, 360-902-5413.

End of main content, page footer follows.

Access Washington official state portal

© Washington State Dept. of Labor & Industries. Use of this site is subject to the laws of the state of Washington.