L&I News

See more More news releases

May 25, 2010

Workplace-safety conference seeks nominations for lifesaving awards

TUMWATER — The Governor’s Industrial Safety and Health Advisory Board is now accepting nominations for the 2010 governor’s lifesaving awards, presented to Washington state residents who saved a life this past year.

The award is open to all Washington residents covered by industrial insurance, whether through the state’s workers’ compensation system or at a self-insured company. The life-saving effort must have taken place between June 1, 2009, and May 30, 2010, but is not limited to actions in Washington state. The deadline for submitting applications is June 30.

Nominees must have made a hands-on effort to save a life. For law enforcement officers, firefighters, emergency medical technicians and similar professions, the lifesaving action cannot be part of their normal job duties but must be actions above and beyond the call of duty.

Humanitarian awards are presented to those who, despite their best efforts, were unable to save the life of the victim.

Last year, 29 people were recognized with lifesaving and humanitarian awards. For a nomination form and more information on qualifications, contact Laura Glover, lifesaving award coordinator, at 360-902-5533. Nomination forms are also available and can be submitted online at www.wagovconf.org/lifesaving.htm.

The award recipients will be featured guests at the 59th Annual Governor’s Industrial Safety and Health Conference Sept. 29-30 at the Spokane Convention Center. The conference is sponsored by the Governor’s Industrial Safety and Health Advisory Board and the Department of Labor & Industries.

For more information about the conference, call toll-free 1-888-451-2004. TDD users may call 360-902-5797.


For media information: Hector Castro at 360-902-6043.

End of main content, page footer follows.

Access Washington official state portal

© Washington State Dept. of Labor & Industries. Use of this site is subject to the laws of the state of Washington.