Washington's minimum wage to increase to $9.04 next year

See more More news releases

TUMWATER –Washington’s minimum wage will increase to $9.04 per hour beginning Jan. 1, 2012, the Department of Labor & Industries announced today.

L&I calculates the state’s minimum wage each year as required by Initiative 688, approved by Washington voters in 1998. The 37-cent increase reflects a 4.258 percent increase in the Consumer Price Index for Urban Wage Earners and Clerical Workers (CPI­W) since August 2010.

The CPI-W, which is used in this calculation, is a measure of the average change in prices over time of goods and services purchased by urban wage earners and clerical workers. Goods and services are determined as those things people buy for day-to-day living such as food, clothing, shelter, and fuels, and services such as doctor visits.

According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics’ news release, over the last 12 months the prices of most categories of consumer goods rose. The largest cost increases occurred for fuels and the lowest cost increases were for education and communication services.

Washington is one of 10 states that adjusts the minimum wage based on inflation and the CPI. The others are Arizona, Colorado, Florida, Missouri, Montana, Nevada, Ohio, Oregon, and Vermont.

Washington state has the highest minimum wage, followed by Oregon. Oregon recently announced that its minimum wage will rise 30 cents to $8.80 an hour in 2012.

Washington’s minimum wage applies to workers in both agricultural and non-agricultural jobs, although 14­ and 15-year-olds may be paid 85 percent of the adult minimum wage, or $7.68 in 2012.

More information on Washington’s minimum wage is available at Wages.Lni.wa.gov. Employers and workers also may call 360-902-5316 or 1-866-219-7321.

###

For media information: Elaine Fischer, Elaine.Fischer@Lni.wa.gov, 360-902-5413.

Broadcast version:

The Department of Labor & Industries says the state’s minimum wage will increase by 37 cents to $9.04 an hour starting January 1st, 2012. The state recalculates the wage each September as required by an initiative passed by voters in 1998. The initiative requires the state to adjust the minimum wage based on the “CPI-W,” which is a national consumer price index covering the cost of goods and services needed for day-to-day living. That index rose four point two five eight percent (4.258%) during the 12 months ending August 31, 2011. You can find more information at Wages dot Lni dot wa dot gov.

End of main content, page footer follows.

Access Washington official state portal

© Washington State Dept. of Labor & Industries. Use of this site is subject to the laws of the state of Washington.