Citation and Notice (Safety Citation, Notice from L&I, Safety and Health Violations, Penalties (Safety & Health), Fines (Safety & Health), WISHA Penalties)

Woman reading a letter from L&I posted on a bulletin board -- Caption: Do you know that employees must be informed about safety citations? Citations must be posted for 3 working days or until all violations are corrected.A safety citation, also known as a Citation and Notice, is issued to an employer to notify them of Division of Occupational Safety & Health (DOSH) inspection results including any safety and health violations found, penalties, and correction (abatement) dates.

January, 2019 Update: L&I is required to adopt maximum penalty levels at least as effective as The Federal Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA). OSHA recently announced their new maximum penalty levels for 2019, and these new amounts are effective as of January 23, 2019.

For any inspection opened on or after 1-23-2019 and until new maximum/minimum levels are announced by Federal OSHA in January 2020, the chart below applies:

Type of Violation

New 2019 Maximum


$13,260 per violation

Willful* or Repeated

$132,598 per violation 

Failure to Abate

$13,260 per day
beyond the abatement date

*The minimum Willful penalty in effect is $9,472

More information:

You can pay your DOSH penalty online at Pay a Balance Due.

To learn about licensing and other infractions related to Electrical, Elevators, Contractors, Plumbers, and other specialties, see Trades & Licensing.


General Rules

    Rules for Specific Activities or Workplaces


    Related Topics

    More help from L&I

    For general information, call 1-800-423-7233.

    End of main content, page footer follows.

    Access Washington official state portal

       © Washington State Dept. of Labor & Industries. Use of this site is subject to the laws of the state of Washington.

    Help us improve