L&I Announces Lower Workers' Comp Premium Rates in 2018


The price of workers' compensation insurance will go down for many businesses in Washington next year by an average decrease of 2.5%.

The rate decrease means employers will pay about $34 less a year per employee for workers' comp coverage in 2018. As a group, Washington employers will pay $67 million less in premiums. Employees will also pay less for their share.

Individual employers may see smaller or larger drops depending on that employer's industry and claims history. For that same reason, some employers will see increases.

Employers will receive their 2018 rate notices by mail in December.

Learn more

Other resources

End of main content, page footer follows.

Access Washington official state portal

  © Washington State Dept. of Labor & Industries. Use of this site is subject to the laws of the state of Washington.

Help us improve