Laws & Rules

Boiler laws and rules

Laws and rules pertaining to boilers, water heaters, and unfired pressure vessels can be found in the following:

Washington Administrative Code (WAC) Chapter 296-104 (app.leg.wa.gov) Revised Code of Washington (RCW) Chapter 70.79 (app.leg.wa.gov).

The laws and rules are maintained and updated by the State Office of the Code Reviser (www1.leg.wa.gov).

Download and print our Boilers and Unfired Pressure Vessel Laws Book (1.1 MB PDF) (updated May 2018).

 


Rule development

2019 rule changes

The Board of Boiler Rules & Washington State Department of Labor & Industries will consider changes to the boiler rules. The changes would affect:

The changes under consideration:

  • Amend the definition of "places of public assembly or assembly hall" to clarify the meaning of assisted living facility as 7 or more residents.
  • Amend language to require inspectors to submit inspection reports of boilers and unfired pressure vessels directly into the state's electronic inspection reporting system or pay applicable processing fees to the department for processing of reports.
  • Establish a new fee of $7 for processing of inspection reports by L&I.

The following are the rulemaking documents:

Here's what happens next:

  • January 22: Pre-proposal (CR-101) filed with the state Code Reviser's Office.
  • February 19 & 20: Board of Boiler Rules study session and meeting.
  • March: The proposed rules (CR-102) are expected to be filed with the state Code Reviser's Office.
  • May: A public hearing on the proposed rules is tentatively scheduled.
  • May 21 & 22: Board of Boiler Rules study session and meeting.
  • July: The final rules (CR-103) are expected to be filed with the state Code Reviser's Office.
  • September 1, 2019: The new rules are expected to take effect.

2018 rule changes

A 4 percent increase in fees the Washington State Department of Labor & Industries charges for boiler-related services will take effect Jan. 1, 2019.

L&I and the Board of Boiler Rules approved the increase as part of changes to the Washington Administrative Code Chapter 296-104. The changes were adopted November 20 and include new safety code requirements and updates and clarifications to existing rules.

Among the updates:

  • Adopt amendments to the definition of "hot water heater" to clarify existing requirements.
  • Replace the "A" endorsement with authorized inspector commission to align with National Board Inspection Code (NBIC), NB-263 RCI-1 for inspector commissions and endorsements.
  • Adopt amendments to align the rules with the NBIC, current edition, Part 4 for installation, inservice inspection, and repair of pressure relief devices.
  • Adopt the NBIC, current edition, Part 1, as the standard for installation of non-nuclear boilers, unfired pressure vessels and safety devices in the state of Washington.
  • Adopt language to clarify the duties of in-service inspectors in relation to other standards and requirements for which other regulatory agencies have authority or responsibility.
  • Adopt the Uniform Plumbing Code (UPC), Section 608.5 with Washington State amendments as discharge piping requirements for water heaters.
  • Replace Supplement 10 with Supplement 7 for nonnuclear repairs and alterations to align the rule with the NBIC, current edition, Part 3.

What happens next?

  • Jan. 1, 2019: The new rules take effect.

End of main content, page footer follows.

Access Washington official state portal

   © Washington State Dept. of Labor & Industries. Use of this site is subject to the laws of the state of Washington.

Help us improve