Boilers

Boiler laws and rules

Laws and rules pertaining to boilers, water heaters, and unfired pressure vessels can be found in the following:

Washington Administrative Code (WAC) Chapter 296-104 (app.leg.wa.gov) Revised Code of Washington (RCW) Chapter 70.79 (app.leg.wa.gov).

The laws and rules are maintained and updated by the State Office of the Code Reviser (www1.leg.wa.gov).

Download and print our Boilers and Unfired Pressure Vessel Laws Book (1.1 MB PDF) (updated April 2019).

 


Rule development

2019 rule changes

The Board of Boiler Rules & Washington State Department of Labor & Industries is considering changes to the boiler rules. The changes would affect specific sections in
Chapter 296-104 Washington Administrative Code (WAC) Board of Boiler Rules - Substantive. The changes under consideration include:

  • Reorganizing requirements for control and limit devices and fuel controls for power, low-pressure, and heating boilers and HLW potable water heaters;
  • Clarifying that an emergency stop switch must be installed for HLW potable hot water heaters with a heating input greater than 400,000 BTU;
  • Converting existing policies requiring entities repairing or altering boilers or pressure vessels to send a controlled copy of a quality control manual to the department prior to starting work, and to send a checklist and certain forms to the department within 45 days of the date the work is completed, into rules; and 
  • Increasing fees by the fiscal growth factor of 5.08 percent for fiscal year 2020.

The following are the rulemaking documents:

Here's what happens next:

  • Oct. 1: Pre-proposal (CR-101) filed with the state Code Reviser's Office.
  • Dec. 17: The proposed rules (CR-102) are expected to be filed with the state Code Reviser's Office.
  • Feb. 19: A public hearing on the proposed rules is tentatively scheduled.
  • Mar. 3: The final rules (CR-103) are expected to be filed with the state Code Reviser's Office.
  • Apr. 3: The new rules are expected to take effect.

 


2019 rule changes

The Board of Boiler Rules & Washington State Department of Labor & Industries has adopted changes to the boiler rules. The changes affect:

This rulemaking will:

  • Change the definition of "place of public assembly or assembly hall" to include assisted living facilities providing housing and basic services for seven or more residents
  • Allow authorized inspection agencies or inspectors to submit inspection reports using the state's online boiler database (Jurisdiction Online, or J.O.). If the agency or inspector doesn't have access to J.O., then reports can be submitted to L&I for processing, for a fee.
  • Establish a $7 fee per boiler and pressure vessel for the department to process inspection reports.

The following are the rulemaking documents:

Here's what happens next:

  • July 23: The final rules (Rule-Making Order CR-103) filed with the state Code Reviser's Office.
  • Sept. 1, 2019: The new rules will take effect.

 

End of main content, page footer follows.

Access Washington official state portal

   © Washington State Dept. of Labor & Industries. Use of this site is subject to the laws of the state of Washington.

Help us improve