How to Become a
Certified Electrician

What you need to know about certification

in Washington State

State law requires a valid certificate of competency from
the Department of Labor & Industries (L&I) for anyone
working in the electrical trade.

How do | become an electrician in
Washington State?

Here’s how to get started:

® Get an electrical training certificate (trainee
card) from L&I. You must be at least 16 years
old* You will need to renew your training
certificate every two years until you have
enough hours to take the exam.

® Work under the direct supervision of a
certified electrician while you are gaining the
required hours of experience to become either
a journeyman or specialty electrician. The certified
electrician must appropriately supervise
your activities and your work hours must be
documented by your employer.

® Before renewing your training certificate, you
must complete the L&I-required and approved
basic classroom instruction:

- You will need 24 hours/year.

- Important: Before applying to take
the certification exam, you must have
completed 24 hours of basic classroom
instruction for each 2000 hours of
experience required for certification.

* Note: If you're under the age of 18, there are certain work restrictions.
Learn more at www.Lni.wa.gov/TeenWorkers.
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How do | get an electrical training certificate?

® You can apply for a certificate or renew it online at
www.Lni.wa.gov/ElectricalRenew, or by mailing
an application for renewal to the Electrical
Program, or by going in person to any L&l office.

® Be sure to notify L&l if your address changes to
ensure that you get your renewal notice on time.

How many hours of experience are required
to qualify for the exam?

The “general journeyman” trade requires

8,000 experience hours. Most of the specialty trades
(residential, HVAC/refrigeration, sign installer, etc.)
require 4,000 hours and a few trades require 2,000.

Learn more at www.Lni.wa.gov/ElectricalRenew and
click on “Electrical Licenses and Certificates” or contact
the Electrical Program. See contact information below.

Important! Be sure the electrical contractor and
electrician you work for are properly licensed.
Otherwise, you will not get experience credit for
your work hours.

For more information

Web: www.Lni.wa.gov/ElectricalProgram
Phone: 360-902-5269
Email: ElectricalProgram@Lni.wa.gov

L&l Offices: www.Lni.wa.gov/Offices
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Upon request, foreign language support and formats for persons
with disabilities are available. Call 1-800-547-8367. TDD users,
call 711. L&I is an equal opportunity employer.
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