
Facts About Construction Liens

What you should know about contracts
If your contractor fails to pay subcontractors, 
suppliers or laborers or neglects to make other 
legally required payments, those who are owed 
money can look to your property for payment, even 
if you have paid your contractor in full. This is true 
if you have hired a contractor to build a new home 
or are buying a newly built home.

It is also true when you remodel or improve your 
property, although the amount of your liability 
may be limited to the amount you owe the prime 
contractor at the time a lien is filed.

Under Washington laws, those who work on your 
property or provide materials and are not paid have a 
right to enforce their claim for payment against your 
property. This claim is known as a construction lien.

People who supply materials or labor ordered by 
your contractor are permitted by law to file a lien 
only if they do so within 90 days of cessation of 
performance or delivery of materials. The time 
frame is spelled out in RCW 60.04.091.

If you enter into a contract to buy a newly built 
home, you may not receive a notice of a lien based 
on a claim by a contractor or material handler. Be 
aware that a lien may be claimed even though you 
have not received a notice.

Before making final payment on the project, 
request a completed lien release form from each 
contractor and material supplier. A sample of this 
“Waiver of Lien” form is available at Lni.wa.gov/go/
F625-029-000 or from any L&I office.

You have final responsibility for seeing that all bills 
are paid even if you have paid your contractor in full.

If you receive a notice to enforce a lien, take the 
notice seriously. Let your contractor know you have 
received the notice. Find out what arrangements are 
being made to pay the sender of the notice.

When in doubt, or if you need more details, consult 
your attorney. When and how to pay your contractor 
is a decision that requires serious consideration.

Reminder: Washington laws require contractors 
to give you a disclosure statement if your contract 
exceeds $1,000 [RCW 18.27.114(A) or (B)].

How to protect your investment
If you are dealing with a lending institution, ask 
your loan officer what precautions the lending 
institution takes to verify that subcontractors and 
material suppliers are being paid when mortgage 
money is paid to your contractor.

Request lender supervision when dealing with 
a lending institution that provides interim or 
construction financing.

Ask the prime contractor to disclose all potential lien 
claimants as a condition of payment. A lien claimant 
must mail (by certified or registered mail or by 
personal service) a copy of the claim of lien to the 
owner within 14 days of the time the lien is recorded 
[RCW 60.04.091(2)]. While an action is ongoing, an 
owner may withhold from this prime contractor the 
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amount of money for which a claim is recorded by a 
subcontractor, supplier or laborer [RCW 60.04.151].

It is recommended that your check be made payable 
jointly, naming the contractor and the subcontractor 
or supplier as payees.

Upon payment and acceptance of the amount due, 
the owner has the right to an executed release of all 
lien rights by lien claimants [RCW 60.04.071].

Consider using an escrow agent to protect your 
interests. Find out whether your escrow agent 
will protect you against liens when disbursing 
payments. If you are interested in this alternative, 
consult your attorney.

Request that your contractor post a performance 
bond in the amount of the project cost. That will 
give you recourse in the event the contractor fails to 
complete the building agreement.

How to avoid lien problems
 � Ask for the disclosure statement that advises 
you of your rights and responsibilities.

 � For greater protection, you may withhold 
a percentage of your contract until you are 
satisfied with the project.

 � Before making final payment for your project, 
require a signed lien release from all major 
contractors and suppliers.

 � Make your checks payable jointly to both the 
contractor and the subcontractor or supplier 
as payees.

For more information
 � Online: Lni.wa.gov/HiringAContractor

 � Contractor Registration Hotline: 1-800-647-0982

 � You may also call your local L&I office. See 
listings under “Washington State of” in the 
government section or the white pages of the 
telephone book.

Please note:

This notice was prepared by the Department of 
Labor & Industries, Specialty Compliance Services 
Division, for reproduction by lending institutions and 
contractors for distribution to their clients. It explains 
the basics of the construction lien law to help you 
protect yourself. This information is not a reflection 
upon the abilities or credit of your contractor.
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