
Salon Owners: 
Know Your 
Responsibilities in 
Washington State

Washington laws may affect your 
business and your workers, including 
minimum wage, paid sick leave, 
workplace safety and more.

Brought to you by a partnership with Washington’s: 
Employment Security Department, Department of 
Revenue, Department of Labor & Industries, Attorney 
General’s Office, and Department of Licensing.



Know your employer responsibilities
As a nail or beauty salon owner 
in Washington, you have a lot of 
responsibilities that go along with serving 
your customers. If you have workers, it’s 
important to understand the laws that 
affect your business. As an employer, 
you need to:

	� Know the rights of your workers and 
pay them correctly.

	� Provide a safe work environment for 
your workers and customers.

	� Make sure you and your workers have 
the required licenses.

	� Pay business and employee taxes.

Employees vs. independent contractors
Are your workers “employees” or 
“independent contractors”? Workers are 
independent contractors if they:

	� Have a “Salon Location License” from 
the Washington State Department 
of Licensing, in addition to the basic 
individual license for the type of 
services they provide.

	� Have their own business license.

	� Set their own rates of pay and are paid 
directly by their customers.

	� Set their own schedules.

If your workers don’t meet the above 
criteria, they are employees. If you have 
employees, you must:

	� Pay them at least minimum wage for 
all hours they work and overtime for 
any hours over 40 hours in a week. 
You may not deduct or use tips to 
meet the minimum wage requirement 
(no tip credit).

	� Provide them one hour of paid sick leave 
for every 40 hours worked. This includes 
part-time and seasonal workers.

	� Allow them a paid rest break of at least 
10 minutes for every 4 hours worked.

	� Allow them at least a 30-minute meal 
period, if more than 5 hours are worked 
in a shift.

	� Provide them a safe work environment 
and have a written safety plan.

	� Make sure each technician has the 
proper and current license for the work 
they do in your salon.

	� Keep accurate records of your 
employees’ daily and weekly hours 
worked and wages paid.

Licensing and sanitation requirements
Salon owners are required to:

	� Have a current salon license.

	� Allow only licensed individuals to work 
on the public.

	� Maintain minimum safety and 
sanitation standards.

Salon work that requires a license:

	� Cosmetology

	� Hair design

	� Barber

	� Manicurist

	� Esthetician

	� Master esthetician



Paid family and medical leave
Starting in 2020, Washington will be 
the fifth state in the nation to offer paid 
family and medical leave benefits to 
workers. The program will be funded 
by premiums paid by both employees 
and many employers, and will be 
administered by the Employment 
Security Department (ESD).

This insurance program will allow 
workers to take necessary time off 
when they welcome a new child into 
their family, are struck by a serious 
illness or injury, or need to take care 
of an ill or ailing relative. As directed 
by the Legislature, premium payments 
started on Jan. 1, 2019 and benefits 
can be taken starting Jan. 1, 2020. 
For more information, go to 
www.paidleave.wa.gov or call 
1-833-717-2273.

http://www.paidleave.wa.gov


Questions?
Learn more: www.Lni.wa.gov/Salons

Minimum wage or paid sick leave

Contact the Washington State Department of 
Labor & Industries (L&I): 
www.Lni.wa.gov/workers-rights 
www.Lni.wa.gov/SickLeave 
1-866-219-7321

Safety and health

Request a free consultation from L&I: 
www.Lni.wa.gov/DOSHConsultation 
1-800-423-7233

Licensing or sanitation

Contact the Washington State 
Department of Licensing: 
www.dol.wa.gov/business/cosmetology 
360-664-6626

Business and employee taxes

Contact the Washington State 
Department of Revenue: 
www.dor.wa.gov 
360-705-6705

Paid family and medical leave

Contact the Washington State 
Employment Security Department: 
www.paidleave.wa.gov 
1-833-717-2273

Upon request, foreign language support and 
formats for persons with disabilities are available. 
Call 1-800-547-8367. TDD users, call 711. 
L&I is an equal opportunity employer.
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