
Key Facts of the Washington 
Overtime Rules Changes

What is being changed
 � L&I has set new minimum salary thresholds 
and updated the job duties tests, both used to 
determine which employees can be classified 
as exempt from overtime and other Minimum 
Wage Act protections.

 � These changes generally affect employees with 
management-level and professional duties who 
are considered exempt from overtime pay.

 � After the initial increase in 2020, the new salary 
threshold will be phased in at different rates 
depending on the size of the employer, with 
the threshold increasing at a slower rate for 
employers with 50 or fewer staff.

Effective date
 � The state rules changes took effect July 1, 2020.

 � Increases in the minimum required salary 
threshold for overtime exempt employees will 
be phased in incrementally, with a more gradual 
phase-in for small businesses, through 2028.

 � After that, increases will be tied to changes 
in the state’s minimum wage as it’s adjusted 
for inflation.

How to get more info

L&I rule change webpage: You can find more details 
about the changes in the state’s overtime rules at 
www.Lni.wa.gov/OvertimeRulemaking.

Overtime rules resource center: You can find an array 
of tools, including an online course, fact sheets, case 
examples and links to webinars, that explain the rule 
changes at www.Lni.wa.gov/workers-rights/wages/
overtime/overtime-rules-resources.

Commonly asked questions: We have answers to a 
number of questions regarding the rule changes at 
www.Lni.wa.gov/workers-rights/wages/overtime/
changes-to-overtime-rules-q-a.

Administrative policies: You can get additional 
guidance and interpretation of the rules at 
www.Lni.wa.gov/workers-rights/workplace-
policies/administrative-policies.

Sign up for email updates: www.Lni.wa.gov/WageNews

Current federal salary threshold
 � The U.S. Department of Labor raised its 
threshold to $684 a week ($35,568 a year) on 
Jan. 1, 2020.

 � When the state and federal salary threshold 
conflicts, Washington businesses must adhere to 
the one most favorable to employees. As of 2021, 
employers must follow the state thresholds.
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The multiplier
 � L&I now uses a multiplier of the state minimum 
wage to determine the minimum salary 
threshold. For example, as of Jan. 1, 2022, the 
state overtime exempt salary threshold was 
determined by multiplying the current state 
minimum wage by 1.75. The state’s minimum 
wage for 2023 is $15.74 an hour.

 � By 2028, the threshold will be, and will remain 
at, 2.5 times the state minimum wage for both 
smaller (50 or fewer employees) and larger 
(51 or more employees) businesses.

Changing the job duties tests
 � The rules changes also update the job duties 
tests used to determine if an employee qualifies 
for the overtime exemption, more closely 
aligning the state tests with federal standards.

 � The tests determine whether a worker is 
performing management-level or professional 
duties which allow an employer to classify the 
worker as overtime exempt.

Salary threshold changes in 2023
 � The state’s minimum wage increased to 
$15.74 an hour on Jan. 1, 2023.

 � Beginning Jan. 1, 2023, employees at small 
businesses will have to earn at least 1.75 
times the state minimum wage ($1,101.80 a 
week/$57,293.60 a year) to be exempt. 

 � Employees at large businesses will have 
to earn at least 2 times the state minimum 
wage ($1,259.20 a week/$65,478.40 a year) to 
be exempt.

Minimum salary by 2028
 � Starting in 2028, all exempt salaried employees 
will have to earn 2.5 times the state minimum 
wage, regardless of the number of employees 
where they work.

 � Based on current projections, that will be an 
estimated $1,794.00 a week ($93,288.00 a year). 
These numbers will likely change depending on 
inflation and the current minimum wage in 2028.

Small vs. large business
 � A small business is defined in the rules as one 
with 1-50 Washington-based employees.

 � A large business has 51 or more Washington-
based employees.

 � The employee count includes all full-time 
and part-time Washington-based employees 
working for a business as of the effective date 
of each step of the implementation schedule.

Who this impacts
 � Tens of thousands of workers in Washington 
will become eligible for overtime pay by the 
time the rules are fully implemented in 2028.

 � Tens of thousands of other workers will have 
their overtime protection strengthened by 2028. 
This is the number of workers who are currently 
entitled to overtime, but have not been receiving 
it because their employer might not be properly 
applying the job duties tests.

When was the state OT rule last updated?
 � The rules governing these exemptions had 
not had a major update since 1976, and these 
standards no longer accurately reflect the 
current expectations of exempt workers, 
given changes in the workforce over the last 
four decades.

 � The automatic updating mechanism in 
the adopted rules prevents that from 
happening again.
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