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Newsletter from the Office of the Chief Electrical Inspector

Wayne Molesworth, Chief Electrical Inspector

Question of the Month — All examinations for a Washington
electrician certificate of competency contain questions about basic
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Safety Tip of the Month

electrical theory. What is the definition of electrical theory? See
correct answer on Page 2

When working or playing outside in cold, wet,
and/or windy conditions, remember:
e Dress in warm loose-fitting layers and stay

Rule Making Updates

WAC 296-46B-940 Reciprocal Agreements - L&l has adopted
changes to rules for reciprocal agreements between Washington
and other states in WAC 296-46B-940. Visit the Journey Level
Electrician tab of our Electrical Licensing webpage for more
information about reciprocal agreements.

WAC 296-46B-995 Electrical Board — Appeal Rights and
Hearings - On December 1, 2020, L&l filed a CR-101 to begin the
rule making process for amending WAC 296-46B-995 in response to
a petition for rule making. The petition seeks to clarify, simplify, and

dry. Wet clothing chills the body quickly.
Excess sweating will cause your body to
lose more heat, so remove extra layers of
clothing whenever you feel too warm.

Stay well hydrated. Drinking warm, non-
caffeinated beverages helps warm you up
and improves circulation to extremities.

Do not ignore shivering. It is an important
sign that your body is losing heat. Constant
shivering is a sign that it is time to go inside
and warm up.

make the procedures for appeals to the board easier to understand
and navigate, as well as to help reduce confusion for those that appeal decisions to the board.

Watch for more information about this rule making in the coming months. More information about these and other rule
making activities is available on the Rule Development tab of our Electrical Laws, Rules, and Policies web page.

Trainees — Do Not Lose Your Work Experience Hours — Submit Affidavits on Time

Please share this important message with all electrical trainees. To receive credit for experience worked in the electrical
construction trade, trainees who are not registered apprentices must submit an affidavit of experience in a timely manner.
Be aware of your certificate expiration date. Submit affidavits of experience within 30 days of the expiration date of your
certificate to avoid a $53.40 update fee. You must submit affidavits of experience from your employer(s) for the previous
two years within 180 days of the expiration date of your certificate, unless you are registered in a department-approved
apprenticeship program. This applies even if you cannot renew due to lack of basic classroom education (see article
below). Upon request, employers are required to provide the previous period’s affidavit of experience to the trainee within
20 days of request in accordance with WAC 296-46B-942(12). Affidavit of Experience forms are available by visiting the
Electrical Trainee page of our website. There is also a handy training log on this web page to keep track of your experience.

When you renew, you must also have completed 48 hours of basic classroom instruction during the previous certificate
period, or you cannot renew. You must still submit your affidavit of experience as described above though.

Temporary Allowance Extended for Trainees to Work While Completing Classroom Training

The COVID-19 pandemic has reduced availability of required classroom education for electrical trainees. Temporary
measures are in place to increase availability of education during recovery. Trainees may lawfully work in the electrical
trade without a properly renewed (active) training certificate under certain conditions.

Trainees having certificates with expiration dates on or after March 13, 2020, who have paid a renewal fee to renew them
into inactive (“T”) status, may continue working in the trade while completing their classroom education until January 26,
2021.

This document may contain hyperlinks to internet web pages. To access this PDF document online, go to:
https://Ini.wa.gov/licensing-permits/electrical/electrical-currents-newsletter/
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Trainees expiring on or after October 29, 2020 may continue to work for 90 days after their expiration date in expired
status while completing their required classroom training. If not renewed by the expiration date, a late renewal fee is
required. This policy will remain until a date to be determined after the Governor declares the state is moving into Phase
4 of the recovery.

If you are a trainee, now is the time to schedule your classroom education. Trainees should not wait until the last minute
to complete educational requirements! You can download a list of approved basic trainee classes at the Basic Classroom
Instruction & Continuing Education page of our website.

Trainees and 01 Contractors — Apprenticeship Requirements are Coming Soon

Substitute Senate Bill 6126 passed by the legislature in 2018 affects those training to become 01 general journey level
electricians and those who employ them.

o Effective July 1, 2023, to be eligible for the (01) general journey level electrician examination, applicants must have
completed a recognized (01) electrical apprenticeship program approved by the Washington State Apprenticeship
Training Council (WSATC) or out-of-state equivalent.

e After June 30, 2023, unless working in a specialty, trainees must be registered apprentices. Apprenticeship programs
may credit certain properly documented electrical experience on record with the department such as, 4000 hours
required to obtain an electrical specialty certificate, military experience, or completion of a two-year training school
program. Students enrolled in a two-year training school program in the electrical construction trade are not required
to be registered apprentices while gaining on-the-job training experience during an externship.

Want to Sponsor An Apprenticeship Program? - All sponsors for (01) general journey level electrician apprenticeship
programs must adhere to Minimum Guideline Standards approved by the WSATC. You can request a copy by contacting
apprentice@Lni.wa.gov. Registered apprenticeship programs start with the formation of an apprenticeship committee
made up of industry members—both employers and employees.

The best way to get started is by contacting the apprenticeship customer service line at 360-902-5320. They will connect
you with an apprenticeship consultant in your area. They are your best resource to help you identify which type of
apprenticeship model best suits your company and then provide one-on-one consulting and on-site assistance to get your
program up and running.

Ugly Picture of the Month: if viewing this document online, click
on the picture to open a larger image. An electrical inspector discovered
this badly deteriorated service while inspecting another installation on the
property. He checked and the exposed terminals were still energized. Look
closely at the meter jaws and you can see a jumper wire installed to get
some free power. The inspector had the power disconnected and may
have saved someone’s life.

Answer to Question of the Month: wAC 296-468-970 -
“Electrical theory” means basic principles of electricity such as:
magnetism, ohm’s law, and circuit properties such as voltage, current,
power, resistance, inductance, capacitance, reactance, impedance, etc., in
series, parallel, and combination AC and DC circuits.

When preparing for an examination, make sure you are familiar with these
principles and bring an electrical theory reference book with you for your
open-book examination.

This document may contain hyperlinks to internet web pages. To access this PDF document online, go to:
https://Ini.wa.gov/licensing-permits/electrical/electrical-currents-newsletter/
Electrical Section Internet Address: https://www.Ini.wa.gov/ - Select Licensing & Permits, then Electrical
This document is available in alternative formats to accommodate persons with disabilities. For assistance, call 1-800-547-8367.
(TDDITTY users, please call 360-902-5797.) Labor & Industries is an Equal Opportunity employer.
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