
Information Packet 

Public Hearing: Elevator Rules & Fee Increase 

 

 

Date:  June 29, 2021 

Time:  9:00 a.m. 

Location:  Virtual and telephonic hearing only. Please join by either:  

 Your computer or mobile app (Microsoft Teams)  
Click here to join the meeting  
   

 Or calling (audio only)  
1-253-372-2181, Phone Conference ID: 677 306 348# 

 
Date:  June 30, 2021 

Time:  9:00 a.m. 

Location:  Virtual and telephonic hearing only. Please join by either:  

 Your computer or mobile app (Microsoft Teams)  
Click here to join the meeting  
    

 Or calling (audio only)  
1-253-372-2181, Phone Conference ID: 287 157 409# 

 
The Washington State Department of Labor & Industries (L&I) will hold a public hearing on the 
proposed amendments to the elevator rules and fees under Chapter 296-96 WAC, SAFETY 
REGULATIONS AND FEES FOR ALL ELEVATORS, DUMBWAITERS, ESCALATORS AND 
OTHER CONVEYANCES. The purpose of the hearing is to receive public comment on the 
proposed amendments. 
 

L&I performed a review of the rules that will update and clarify existing rules, increase fees, and 

make housekeeping and other changes. 

 

A fee increase of 5.08% is needed to support operating expenses for inspections of 

conveyances and other elevator program public safety activities.  

 

You can review the proposed rules here or by clicking on the program’s “Laws, Rules, and 
Policies” page.  
  

If you require communication or accommodation arrangements, please contact Alicia Curry 

at 360-902-6244, before June 14, 2021. 

 

Please send written comments as follows:  

 

By mail to: Alicia Curry 

  Department of Labor & Industries 

  Field Services & Public Safety Division 

  P.O. Box 44400 

 Olympia, Washington 98504-4400      

 

https://teams.microsoft.com/l/meetup-join/19%3ameeting_ZDU3M2MzMzItM2Q2Ni00NjY4LWFlYjgtMGE3MjJlMjc3ZWJh%40thread.v2/0?context=%7b%22Tid%22%3a%2211d0e217-264e-400a-8ba0-57dcc127d72d%22%2c%22Oid%22%3a%22acb1df6f-3588-43aa-b503-63aebce21ddc%22%7d
tel:+12533722181,,645544642# 
https://teams.microsoft.com/l/meetup-join/19%3ameeting_YzNlYWZlYzMtOGNmMy00YTg5LTk5NTktMDJmNzRhYjRiM2I0%40thread.v2/0?context=%7b%22Tid%22%3a%2211d0e217-264e-400a-8ba0-57dcc127d72d%22%2c%22Oid%22%3a%22acb1df6f-3588-43aa-b503-63aebce21ddc%22%7d
tel:+12533722181,,645544642# 
http://www.lni.wa.gov/
https://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=296-96
https://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=296-96
https://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=296-96
https://lni.wa.gov/rulemaking-activity/?query=Elevator
https://lni.wa.gov/licensing-permits/elevators/laws-rules-policies#rule-development
https://lni.wa.gov/licensing-permits/elevators/laws-rules-policies#rule-development


By electronic mail to: Alicia.Curry@Lni.wa.gov  

 

By fax to: 360-902-5292 

 

Comments must be received by 5 p.m. on June 30, 2021. 

 

Details of specific proposed amendments will be published in Washington State Register 21-11 

on June 2, 2021. The tentative adoption date for these rules is August 31, 2021, and the 

tentative effective date is October 1, 2021.  


