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Summary 
 
Apprentice Utilization Requirements (AURs) require 15% of labor hours for a given 
public works construction project be performed by Washington State registered 
apprentices and/or reciprocally recognized apprentices in a different state or federal 
program. The Washington State Apprenticeship and Training Council (WSATC) has an 
Apprenticeship Reciprocity Agreement0F

1 with Oregon and Montana. RCW 49.04.035 
requires the Washington State Department of Labor & Industries to verify apprentice 
utilization compliance on public works projects and report the results to the WSATC. 
 
History 
 
The first state-wide AUR initiative came through an executive order under the Locke 
administration in February 2000.  Since that time, AURs have become widespread in 
Washington encompassing cities, counties, private and public development entities, 
department of transportation and K-12 school construction. 
 
Driving these efforts is a compelling industry need for skilled workers best captured by 
the following excerpt from the codification of Gov. Locke’s executive order in 2005: 

 
“A well-trained construction trade’s work force is critical to the ability of the 
state of Washington to construct public works.  Studies of the state's work 
force highlight population trends that, without a concerted effort to offset 
them, will lead to an inadequate supply of skilled workers in the construction 
industry.  State government regularly constructs public works.  The efficient 
and economical construction of public works projects will be harmed if there 
is not an ample supply of trained construction workers.  Apprenticeship 
training programs are particularly effective in providing training and 
experience to individuals seeking to enter or advance in the work force. By 
providing for apprenticeship utilization on public works projects, state 
government can create opportunities for training and experience that will 
help assure that a trained work force will be available in sufficient numbers 
in the future for the construction of public works." 
 

 
Apprentice Utilization Requirements on public works projects are covered in RCW 
39.04.320. 

                                        
1 The reciprocity agreement may be updated yearly. Please review the current version and any updates 
to understand changes and effective dates. 

https://www.lni.wa.gov/licensing-permits/apprenticeship/laws-rules-policies#administrative-policies
https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=49.04.035
https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=39.04.320
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Review of Apprentice Utilization Requirements 
  
In accordance with RCW 39.04.320, a minimum 15% of labor hours will be worked by 
WSATC registered/approved apprentices on the following: 
 

• State agency public works estimated to cost $1 million dollars or more; 
 

• Department of Transportation projects estimated to cost $2 million or more;  
 

• School district public works projects estimated to cost $1 million or more; 
 

• Public works by a state four-year institution of higher learning estimated to cost 
$1 million or more; and 
 

• Municipal projects over $2 million awarded after July 1, 2024. 
 

o Over $1.5 million for projects advertised for bid on/after July 1, 2026. 
 

o Over $1 million for projects advertised for bid on/after July 1, 2028. 
 
Apprentice Utilization Requirements can also be found on projects not mandated by 
law. The awarding entity may require apprentice utilization even if the project is below 
the minimum dollar amount.  
 
There are other types of projects that have Apprentice Utilization Requirements, such 
as renewable energy projects and projects with tax incentives/rebates. Renewable 
energy project information can be found in WAC 296-05-207. Apprentice utilization 
information on projects with tax incentives/rebates can be found by contacting the 
Department of Revenue. 
 
Each sponsoring jurisdiction/entity for an apprentice utilization requirement may take a 
slightly different approach.  For specifics regarding a particular AUR, refer back to the 
project bid specifications or contract documents. 
 
Where is L&I getting the data for apprentice utilization? 
 
RCW 39.12.120 requires all contractors working on a public works project to submit 
certified payroll at least once per month using the Prevailing Wage Intents and Affidavits 
(PWIA) system. L&I can use certified payroll and affidavits to verify apprentice 
utilization. However, the apprentice utilization percentage on the affidavits is what 
is used to determine compliance.  
 
For questions on certified payroll, contactor training, intents, affidavits, or the PWIA 
system, please contact the prevailing wage section at 360-902-5335, or 
PW1@lni.wa.gov.  
 

https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=296-05-207
https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=39.12.120
mailto:PW1@lni.wa.gov
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For any other questions concerning apprentice utilization, please contact the 
apprenticeship section at 360-902-5320 or Apprentice@lni.wa.gov.  
 
More information can be found on our website under licensing and permits. 
 
The Easiest Way to Start Training Registered Apprentices  
 
Join an existing program!  The easiest way to comply with an AUR is to become what is 
referred to as a “training agent” employer participating in an existing, approved State 
Apprenticeship program.  This process can be relatively quick, but relies solely on the 
program sponsor and interested business to carry it through.  To join an existing 
program: 
 

• First, identify the occupations for which you have the capability and desire to 
train. 

• Use L & I‘s Apprenticeship Registration and Tracking System (ARTS) to find 
apprenticeship programs by county and/or occupation. The result lists 
apprenticeship program sponsors in alphabetical order. 

• Click on a program name to get the details on the program and occupation, 
Standards of Apprenticeship, and contact information. 

• Call or email the contact person listed for information on program participation.   
 
For any program you may be interested in, study the “Standards of Apprenticeship” 
document carefully and then sign a “training agent agreement” form with the program 
sponsor.  Program sponsors may require fees for participation to cover administrative 
and training costs. 
 
 
Starting Your Own Apprenticeship Program 
For businesses that do not want to join an existing program and have the desire, 
capacity and resources to start their own program, help is available: 
 

• Contact the apprenticeship section at 360-902-5320 or Apprentice@lni.wa.gov 
and you will be referred to an apprenticeship consultant in your area. 

• Approval process typically takes approximately six months. 
• Potential program sponsors must have the will and resources to complete the 

approval process and then administer and maintain a registered apprenticeship 
program including, but not limited to: 

 
1. New apprenticeship standards for proposals must be substantially similar 

(e.g., term, work processes, related training) to any existing standards for the 
occupation in question. 

2. Administrative capacity to oversee day-to-day operations of the 
apprenticeship program. 

mailto:Apprentice@lni.wa.gov
https://www.lni.wa.gov/
https://secure.lni.wa.gov/arts-public/#/program-search
mailto:Apprentice@lni.wa.gov
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3. Ability to comply with equal employment opportunity guidelines in selection of 
apprentices (programs with more than 4 apprentices) 

4. Ability to provide, or the ability to negotiate with an educational institution to 
provide, a minimum of 144 hours per year of Related Supplemental 
Instruction (RSI) to the apprentice. 

 

Responsibilities When Employing Registered Apprentices 
 
Employers that provide on-the-job training for apprentices are required to follow certain 
rules: 
  

• Provide paid on-the-job training to the apprentice in the registered occupation. 
• Pay the apprentice the appropriate wages (Apprentices are paid a specified 

percentage of the Journey rate for the occupation.  Program sponsors report 
Journey rates annually to L & I). 

• Monitor ratio of journey level to apprentice workers. 
• Ensure proper supervision of apprentices in accordance with the program 

Standards of Apprenticeship. 
• Employ only registered apprentices and journeymen when training for an 

occupation. 
 
For more information on becoming a training agent or starting a registered 
apprenticeship, please visit our Offer a Registered Apprenticeship webpage. 

https://lni.wa.gov/licensing-permits/apprenticeship/offer-a-registered-apprenticeship

