Teri Gardner 9-9-2021

Department of Labor & Industries Apprenticeship Section PO Box 44530 Olympia WA 98504-4530



REQUEST FOR REVISION OF STANDARDS

Received 07/16/2021 By S. Patterson Rec 09/08/2021 By S Patterson

L&I apprenticeship coordinator

TO: Washington State Apprenticeship & Training Council

Teri Gardner 7-16-2021

From: <u>Power Line Clearance and Tree Trimmers Apprenticeship Committee #210</u>

(NAME OF PROGRAM STANDARDS)

Please update our Standards of Apprenticeship to reflect the following changes. Additions shall be <u>underlined.</u> Deletions shall be struck through. See attached.

Authorized signatures			
(chr.)	Approved by:		
ung hi	Washington State Apprenticeship & Training Council		
(sec.)	Secretary of WSATC:		
date:	date:		

į

attach additional sheets if necessary

VII. APPRENTICE WAGES AND WAGE PROGRESSION:

C. Tree Trimmer

An apprentice who is given credit for previous experience in the trade shall be paid the rate of the period to which such credit advances them.

Advancement Requirements:

- 1. The Committee will review work records and class attendance on at least a quarterly basis. The Committee may advance, hold, suspend, or cancel apprentice agreements as performance indicates.
- 2. The minimum hours required for advancement for each step of the apprenticeship is as follows:

	1ST	2ND	3RD	4 TH	Journey
	STEP	STEP	STEP	STEP	Level
Ground	500	250	700	1,400	2,850
Climbing	0	75	100	200	375
Bucket	0	175	200	400	775
Total Hours	500	500	1,000	2,000	4,000

3. Advancements are not automatic. Requirements must be met as listed:

- a. Meet the OJT hours required.
- b. Meet the school hours required.
- c. Have satisfactory employer records.
- d. Have all current monthly progress reports submitted.
- e. Have satisfactory test results from classroom instruction.
- f. All apprenticeship accounts with the JATC are paid in full.
- g. All apprentices must obtain a Class B Commercial Drivers manual transmission (no code "E" restriction) License within the first 1000 OJT hours of the registration date.
- h. All apprentices must obtain 1st Aid/CPR certification within 45 days of registration date, Traffic Control Flagger certification within 90 days of registration date, and Commercial Driver's License Permit within 90 days of registration date.
- i. Apprentices advancing from 3rd to 4th pay step must have received a passing grade on the Laws & Safety Pesticide licensing.

X. <u>ADMINISTRATIVE/DISCIPLINARY PROCEDURES:</u>

A. <u>Administrative Procedures:</u>

[Please reformat to correct Number/Letter/Number format]

- 3. <u>Sponsor Procedures:</u>
 - g. Applicants who have successfully completed a recognized electrical pre-apprenticeship training program will be given credit for 250 ground hours.
 - <u>h. An apprentice who is given credit for previous experience in the trade shall be paid the</u> rate of the period to which such credit advances them.

Advancement Requirements:

1) The Committee will review work records and class attendance on at least a quarterly basis. The Committee may advance, hold, suspend, or cancel apprentice agreements as performance indicates.

2) The minimum hours required for advancement for each step of the apprenticeship is as follows:

	<u>1ST</u>	<u>2ND</u>	<u>3RD</u>	<u>4TH</u>	<u>Journey</u>
	STEP	<u>STEP</u>	<u>STEP</u>	<u>STEP</u>	Level
Ground	<u>500</u>	<u>250</u>	<u>700</u>	<u>1,400</u>	<u>2,850</u>
Climbing	<u>0</u>	<u>75</u>	<u>100</u>	<u>200</u>	<u>375</u>
Bucket	<u>0</u>	<u>175</u>	<u>200</u>	<u>400</u>	<u>775</u>
Total Hours	<u>500</u>	<u>500</u>	<u>1,000</u>	<u>2,000</u>	<u>4,000</u>

3) Advancements are not automatic. Requirements must be met as listed:

- i. Meet the OJT hours required.
- ii. Meet the school hours required.
- iii. Have satisfactory employer records.
- iv. Have all current monthly progress reports submitted.
- v. Have satisfactory test results from classroom instruction.
- vi. All apprenticeship accounts with the JATC are paid in full.
- <u>vii. All apprentices must obtain a Class B Commercial Drivers manual</u> <u>transmission (no code "E" restriction) License within the first 1000 OJT</u> <u>hours of the registration date.</u>
- <u>viii.</u> <u>All apprentices must obtain 1st Aid/CPR certification within 45 days</u> of registration date, Traffic Control Flagger certification within 90 days of registration date, and Commercial Driver License Permit within 90 days of registration date.

j. k. School & Work Attendance

8) All apprentices advancing from 3rd to 4th step must also receive a passing grade of 70% on the applicable Pesticide Certification test, as noted by the area of initial dispatch. Prior to completion of the program, all apprentices must have obtained the proper applicator license as dictated by the area of initial dispatch.