For	L&I	Staff	Use	Only

Rec'd 5.22.25 eml R6aTeri Gardner 5-23-25Rec'd 5.16.25 eml R6aTeri Gardner 5-19-25L&I Apprenticeship ConsultantL&I Admin

Department of Labor and Industries Apprenticeship Section PO Box 44530 Olympia WA 98504-4530



Request for Revision of Standards

TO: Washington State Apprenticeship & Training Council

FROM: Inland Northwest Associated General Contractors Carpenter AC # 559

Please update our Standards of Apprenticeship to reflect the following changes:

- Additions shall be underlined (underlined).
- Deletions shall be struck through (struck through).
- See attached.

Form must be signed by Committee Chair and Secretary or Program's Authorized Signer

☐ Chair ⊠ Authorized Signer	Date 5/16/2025	Secretary	Date	
Print Name:		Print Name:		
Michael L Ankney				
Signature:		Signature:		

Approved By: Washington State Apprenticeship & Training Council	
Signature of Secretary of the WSATC:	
Date:	

Attach additional sheets if necessary

FROM: Inland Northwest Chapter Associated General Contractors Carpenters AC #559

II. MINIMUM QUALIFICATIONS:

Age: Must be at least eighteen (18) years of age. Seventeen (17) years of age are allowed with parental permission.

X. ADMINISTRATIVE/DISCIPLINARY PROCEDURES:

- A. <u>Administrative Procedures:</u>
 - 3. <u>Sponsor Procedures:</u>

e. Youth and Minor Employment Procedures:

Special conditions for employing minors.

- i. Youth apprentices will:
 - Successfully complete the Training Agents' safety training program.
 - Wear all required Personal Protective Equipment (PPE) as provided by the Employer.
 - Only use tools and perform tasks for which they have been trained, certified, or licensed.
- ii. The Committee, in coordination with Labor & Industries Youth Employment Specialist, will ensure any Training Agent wishing to employ a minor is in compliance with all applicable teen worker laws and rules contained in chapter 49.12 RCW and chapter 296-125 WAC. This includes, but may not be limited to;
 - Minor Work Permits
 - Student Learner Exemption Minor Work Variances
 - Parent-School Authorization forms
 - Labor & Industries Youth Employment Specialist approval of all motorized/powered tools and equipment that apprentices may use
 - Maintaining documented proof of student age on file

Reasonably consistent employment for minors and minor work hours is 20 hours, (or 28 hours with approved optional special variance), during a school week per defined school year. Reference LNI Teen Worker, <u>https://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=296-125</u>