To become a master electrician, you must have the required amount of experience as an electrician and take and pass the master electrician exam in your specialty. Master electricians are certified to act as an administrator. Both master electricians and administrators ensure that an electrical contractor's work is in compliance with the electrical laws and rules. But only master electricians can work with the tools of the trade as an installer.
Master electricians who have met eligibility requirements, taken and passed an examination, and are certified with L&I can:
- Work with the tools of the trade as an installer.
- When assigned, act as an administrator for an electrical contractor to ensure that an electrical contractor's work is in compliance with the electrical laws and rules.
To become a certified master electrician in Washington, you must be certified as a general journey level or specialty electrician with L&I for a specific amount of time.
There are two levels of certification for master electricians: general journey level and specialty master electricians.
- Journey level master electrician: To qualify for the master electrician exam you must be certified as a general journey level electrician by L&I for at least 4 years.
- Specialty master electrician: To qualify for the exam you must be certified by L&I in an specialty, for at least 2 years.
Depending on the date you pass the examination and your birthdate, your initial certification will be good for a minimum of 25 months up to a maximum of 36 months.
When you pass the master electrician examination, it replaces your existing electrical certification. You can't carry both an electrician and master electrician certificate for the same certification.
To apply for a master electrician examination online, you will need:
- Your Social Security number.
- Mailing address.
- Email address.
- Required fees.
- $160.60 for your application.
- Your examination fee - this fee varies by specialty and is paid directly to the testing agency (PSI).
Complete the Application for Master Electrician Certification Examination (F500-088-000).
Send the original form, along with a check or money order to:
Department of Labor & Industries
PO Box 44460
Olympia, WA 98504-4460
You can apply in person at any local L&I office.
If applying in person, bring the completed forms above to your local L&I office. Payment can be made in person with cash, check, money order, or credit/debit card.
What L&I will do:
- Review your application to verify that you meet qualification requirements.
- Mail you a notice once your application is approved with instructions on how to schedule your exam with PSI.
- Send a letter if your application is denied, stating the reason(s) for denial.
As a master electrician, you are required to notify us within 10 days of any change in your assignment status.
When you assign as the designated administrator/master electrician to an electrical contracting company, you are accepting the responsibility to ensure the electrical contractor complies with all appropriate Washington state electrical laws and rules.
To assign yourself as the designated administrator/master electrician to an electrical contractor or unassign yourself, you must submit a completed Change Assignment of Administrator/Master Certificate form (F503-009-000), along with the fee of $41.60.
Master electrician's certificates must be renewed every 3 years. Your certificate expires on your birthdate. You must complete 24 hours of L&I approved continuing education, including a minimum of 8 hours of code update and 4 hours of RCW/WAC review.
Before you renew your master electrician's certificate online, make sure you're eligible to renew:
- Use our Verify tool which will tell you if you have:
- Met the education requirements.
- Any outstanding, unpaid citations.
- An expired or suspended certificate.
If your certificate is more than 90 days past the expiration date, you must reapply and take the master electrical examination to reinstate your certificate. If you have any issues with your certificate, contact us for assistance. If an education course is not appearing on your record, contact your course provider.
To renew online, you will need the following:
- Your 12-digit certificate number.
- Last 4 digits of your Social Security number.
- Email address and phone number.
- Your renewal fee of $137.90, or $275.90 if renewing late, payable by credit/debit card or electronic check.
By mail or in person
To renew by mail, you will need to send your:
- Renewal notice or a printed application Administrator/Electrician/Master Electrician Certificate Renewal form (F500-045-000).
- Check or money order for $158.70, or $317.50 if renewing late, payable to the Department of Labor & Industries.
Department of Labor & Industries
P.O. Box 44460
Olympia WA 98504-4460
To renew in person, visit your local L&I office with the following:
- Renewal notice or a printed application, Administrator/Electrician/Master Electrician Certificate Renewal form (F500-045-000).
- The renewal fee of $158.70, or $317.50 if renewing late. We accept cash, check, money order, or credit/debit cards.
Late renewal requirements
If you pay your renewal fee but have not completed your continuing education requirements, your certificate will be place in an inactive status until education requirements are met. If you are assigned to an electrical contractor fulfilling the duties of an administrator, you will be unassigned.
You should renew your certificate before it expires. If you are on the job with a card that is expired, suspended, inactive, or revoked, you can be subject to citation and fines. If you don't renew before your certificate expires, a late-renewal fee will be charged. If you are assigned to an electrical contractor fulfilling administrator duties, you will be unassigned on the expiration date of your certificate.
If you are unassigned due to late renewal or not meeting educational requirements, you must complete the Change Assignment of Administrator/Master Certificate form (F503-009-000) to become reassigned to the electrical contractor.
What L&I will do
We will verify that you have:
- Completed the required continuing education.
- Paid the appropriate renewal fee.
- No outstanding fines or penalties.
Within 5 days after we receive your renewal, L&I will:
- Send your certificate.
- Notify you if there are any outstanding issues that need to be resolved.
For more information
Request for Change of Address (F500-044-000)
- Electrical Licensing and Certification: 360-902-5269
- Electrical Citation and Amusement Ride Support Desk: 360-902-5570
- Electrical Plan Review: 360-902-5246
Find an office location near you.
Washington State Department of Labor & Industries
P.O. Box 44460
Olympia WA 98504-4460