Until further notice, L&I electrical inspections will be performed based on construction activities allowed by the phase of the Governor’s safe start plan in the county where the project is located.

For more information, visit: Safe Start | Washington State Coronavirus Response (COVID-19)  and https://coronavirus.wa.gov/business-workers

Electrical work in Washington requires a permit and inspection. However, there are a few exceptions. If you're not sure if your work requires an electrical permit and inspection, check Chapter 296-46B-901 WAC.

Electrical permits must be purchased by the electrical contractor or the property owner or homeowner who will actually be doing the work. If you are hiring an electrical contractor, they must purchase their own permits for the work they do on your property.

You must get your electrical permit and inspection from the correct jurisdiction:

plan review is required for electrical installations or alterations at educational, institutional, health, or other personal care facilities within L&I’s jurisdiction.

L&I inspects electrical work using the 2017 National Electrical Code (NEC). The 2020 NEC becomes effective on October 29, 2020.

To access a read only version of the NEC, select Free Access, then select the Free Access edition you want to view.

Getting started

You must purchase a permit before starting any electrical work. If your jobsite is in L&I's jurisdiction, you can use our permit fee schedule to help estimate the cost of your permit. Our online payment system calculates the permit fees when you apply for your permit.

Requesting inspections

  • Requests can be made online 24 hours a day.
  • Requests left on the request line after 4 p.m. will not be recorded until the following business day.
  • If you have special arrangement requirements such as access to the site or building, you must provide that information when requesting your inspection.
    • Enter the information in the comment box when requesting your inspection online. You will have a total of 255 characters (spaces) to record that information.
    • Call an inspection request line and leave a message on the request line.

If you obtained your permit from L&I

If you obtained your permit from a city

What you need to know about inspections

  • You must request inspection no later than 3 business days after completing the work or 1 business day after any part of the installation has been energized, whichever occurs first.
  • Failure to request an inspection may result in civil penalties.
We will strive to get to your inspection within 48 hours of the date of the request
  • Do not cover any electrical work prior to inspection.
Make sure we have the information to get the inspector to the jobsite and get the job done
  • When purchasing your permit, provide turn by turn directions to the jobsite from the nearest main crossroad to the job.
  • Request an inspection when the work is ready to be inspected.
  • Provide any special instructions for building access.
    • Enter the information in the comment box when requesting your inspection online. You will have a total of 255 characters (spaces) to record that information.
  • No unrestrained animals or children under the age of 18 without an adult present.

Contact us


  • Electrical Licensing and Certification: 360-902-5269
  • Electrical Citation and Amusement Ride Support Desk: 360-902-5570
  • Electrical Plan Review: 360-902-5246

Local offices

Find an office location near you.




Washington State Department of Labor & Industries
Electrical Program
P.O. Box 44460
Olympia WA 98504-4460