Information Packet

Public Hearing: Elevator Rules (Fee Corrections)

Date: August 23, 2023

Time: 9:30 a.m.

Location: Department of Labor & Industries

Tukwila Office 12806 Gateway Dr. S Tukwila, WA 98168

Zoom Meeting

https://lni-wa-gov.zoom.us/j/89662194843?pwd=Ykk1U1AvQW4vem5XT1llemF4ZTJyZz09

Passcode: =G+e\$6cw

Join by phone:

1-253-215-8782

Meeting ID: 896 6219 4843

Passcode: 42581105

The <u>Washington State Department of Labor & Industries</u> (L&I) will hold a public hearing on the proposed amendments to the elevator rules under <u>chapter 296-96 WAC</u>. The purpose of the hearing is to receive public comment on the proposed amendments.

The purpose of this rulemaking is to propose amendments for corrections to fees. Proposed amendments to this chapter:

- Correct the fee effective dates from July 1, 2024, to January 1, 2024;
- Remove obsolete fees:
- Correct the fee amount for inspecting and testing of elevators used for construction; and
- Modify rules for clarity and general housekeeping, such as renumbering, formatting, etc.

On October 18, 2022, L&I adopted two, 8.5 percent increases to all elevator fees effective January 1, 2023, and January 1, 2024. The fee increase supports funding for a new Conveyance Management System. As a result of a typographical error, some of the fee effective dates were incorrect. The fees affected include permits, inspections, and other services for conveyances. This rulemaking proposes corrections, along with housekeeping amendments to remove obsolete fees.

You can review the proposed rules at https://lni.wa.gov/licensing-permits/elevators/laws-rules-policies#rule-development.

If you require communication or accommodation arrangements, please contact Meagan Edwards at 360-522-0125 or Meagan.Edwards@Lni.wa.gov, by <u>August 9, 2023</u>.

Please send written comments as follows:

By mail: Meagan Edwards

Department of Labor & Industries

Field Services & Public Safety Division

P.O. Box 44400

Olympia, Washington 98504-4400

By E-mail: Meagan.Edwards@Lni.wa.gov

By fax: 360-902-6134

Submit written comments by 5 p.m. on August 23, 2023.

Details of specific proposed amendments will be published in Washington State Register 23-15 on August 2, 2023. The tentative adoption date for these rules is October 17, 2023, and the tentative effective date is January 1, 2024.