Combination Plumber & Electrician

Well drillers and pump and irrigation contractors must get both plumbing and electrical licenses

Washington State requires well drillers, contractors, and workers doing pump and piping work on domestic water systems and irrigation water systems to have both plumbing and electrical licenses. State law prohibits the placement of a pump in someone else’s well, or any associated electrical or plumbing work, without a proper license.

You can combine your general contractor registration and electrical contractor specialty license to work in the domestic pump and/or pump and irrigation trade.

Certification Requirements

Pump and Irrigation (PL03) - is limited to installation, maintenance, and repair of equipment that is used to acquire, treat, store, or move water suitable for drinking or irrigation purposes.

  • 2 years or more (at least 4,000 hours) working in the specialty under supervision of an appropriate certified plumber (excluding PL03A and PL30).
  • Working in this trade also requires electrical certification.

Domestic Well (PL03A) - is limited to installation, maintenance, and repair of equipment that is used to acquire, treat, store, or move drinking or irrigation water using a pump not exceeding 100 gallons per minute or 7.5 horsepower, single phase.

  • 1 year or more (at least 2,000 hours) working in the specialty under supervision of a certified plumber (excluding PL30).
  • Working in this trade also requires electrical certification.

Getting Started

To get certified as a combination plumber/electrician you will have to complete the following steps:

  • Apply as a plumber trainee ($45.20).
  • Apply as an electrical trainee ($37.90 online OR $44.10 in-person or by mail).
  • Keep your plumber and electrical certification current and in good standing.
  • Obtain and document the required hours of experience and continuing education for both plumbing and electrical trainee programs.
  • Apply for and pass the plumber exam ($151.90).
  • Apply for and pass the electrical exam (Costs vary; exams are administered by PSI).
  • Pay the plumber certification fee ($182.50).
  • Pay the electrical certification fee ($90).

Note: If you are already a certified plumber or electrician, some of these steps may not apply. Contact plumbers@Lni.wa.gov for more information.

Once you have complete the steps above, L&I will issue a card with both your plumber and electrical certification numbers.

Applying for an exam

Apply for certification

Depending on the date of your application and your birthdate, your initial certification will be good for:

  • A minimum of 25 up to a maximum of 37 months for domestic pump or pump and irrigation plumbers.

Your initial fees are the same regardless of the length of time. They are not pro-rated. Your renewal date is on your birthday.

NOTE: Online application for Pump & Irrigation (PL03) and Domestic Well (PL03A) examination is not available at this time.

Apply by mail

Print the Plumber Certification Application (F627-008-000) and follow the directions on the form.

To apply for the plumber portion of your combination plumber/electrician certification, you will need:

  • Your Social Security number
  • The required documents on file with L&I to support your application:
    • Plumber trainees — Verify that your affidavits of experience documenting your required years and hours of experience in Washington are on file with L&I. You can verify your hours by calling our office at 360-902-5207 or emailing us at plumbers@Lni.wa.gov.
    • Out-of-state applicants — Email 1) copies of your active out-of-state plumbing license and your government-issued photo ID, OR 2) documentation of your U.S. military experience to plumbers@Lni.wa.gov or mail to Plumber Certification, P.O. Box 44470, Olympia, WA 98504 for consideration.
  • Required Fees
    • $151.90 for your plumber examination
    • Upon successful completion of your exam, we will send you an invoice for the appropriate plumber certification fee:
      • $182.50 – Domestic Pump / Pump and Irrigation

To apply for the electrician portion of your combination plumber/electrician certification, you will need to contact the Electrical Licensing program at 360-902-5269.

Apply in person

You can apply in person at any L&I field office.

What L&I will do

  • Process your affidavits of experience or verify your out-of-state license information
  • Mail an examination notice if your application is accepted
  • Mail a notice requesting a certification fee once you pass your exam
  • Send a letter if the application is denied, stating the reason for denial
Renewing your certification

Renew your certification

Your plumber certification renews on your birth date every 3 years for domestic pump and pump and irrigation plumbers.

Renewal fee schedule

Plumber Classification Continuing Education Requirements Renewal Fee Late Fee*
Pump and Irrigation (PL03) 24 hours every 3 years** $182.50 $182.50 ($365.00 total)
Domestic Well (PL03A) 24 hours every 3 years** $182.50 $182.50 ($365.00 total)

*The late fee is a double fee that applies to late renewals or for those haven't completed their continuing education requirements by their expiration date.

**These 24 hours must consist of a minimum of 12 hours of electrical and 12 hours of plumbing (code or IRP). See continuing education for more details.

  • If you pay your renewal fee on time but you don’t complete your continuing education on time, late fees will apply. You cannot pay your late fee online. You will need to mail it in or pay at a service location.
  • 90 calendar days after your certification has expired – If you haven’t paid your renewal fee and/or you haven’t completed your continuing education requirements, you must retest to reinstate your certification. A retesting fee of $151.90 will apply along with your certification fee.

Renew online

To renew the plumber portion of your combination plumber/electrician certification, you will need:

  • Your 12-digit certification (license) number
  • Your Social Security number
  • An active journey level or specialty plumber certification (not suspended or canceled)
  • Proof of your continuing education on file with L&I from your course provider
    • Note: If you do not complete your continuing education by your expiration date, late fees will apply and you will be unable to renew online
  • An electronic payment: We accept Visa, MasterCard, Discover, and American Express credit or debit cards. We also accept electronic checks (E-Check) – a one-time withdrawal from your checking account.
  • Required Fees
    • $182.50 – Domestic pump or pump and irrigation specialty plumber

To renew the electrician portion of your combination plumber/electrician certification, you will need to contact the Electrical Licensing program at 360-902-5269.

Note: You cannot renew online if you have any outstanding, unpaid plumbing infractions, or your certificate is suspended.

Renew by mail

To renew your existing plumber certification, print the Plumber, Medical Gas, or Trainee Renewal form and follow the instructions on the form.

Renew in person

You can apply in person at any L&I field office.

Verify your certification





Verify your certification

After you have applied for or renewed your certification and/or endorsement, use our Verify a Contractor, Tradesperson or Business tool make sure your record shows your new expiration date.