<u>AMENDATORY SECTION</u> (Amending WSR 10-04-092, filed 2/2/10, effective 3/15/10)

WAC 296-126-001 Applicability. (1) These rules apply to employers and employees in the state as defined in RCW 49.12.005 (3) and (4).

- (2) These rules do not apply to:
- (a) Newspaper vendors or carriers;
- (b) Domestic or casual labor in or about private residences; or
- (c) Agricultural labor as defined in RCW 50.04.150((; or
- (d) Sheltered workshops)).
- Note 1: Public employers and employees should review RCW 49.12.005 (3)(a) and (b) and WAC 296-126-002(2) to determine applicability.
- **Note 2:** For a variance from the rules under this chapter, see WAC 296-126-130.

AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 10-04-092, filed 2/2/10, effective 3/15/10)

- WAC 296-126-010 Exceptions to minimum wage rate—Special certificates. (1) The director may issue a special certificate to an employer authorizing the employer to pay the following employees at a wage rate that is less than the applicable minimum wage rate:
- (a) ((An employee who is physically or mentally handicapped to such a degree that he or she is unable to obtain employment in the competitive labor market;
- (b)) A trainee or learner not subject to the jurisdiction of the Washington state apprenticeship and training council under chapter 49.04 RCW; or
 - (((c))) <u>(b)</u> A student learner.
- (2) The director shall fix the reduced minimum wage and issue a special certificate only where the director determines that an employer has applied for it in good faith.
- (3) The director shall fix the duration of the validity of the certificate.

AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 10-04-092, filed 2/2/10, effective 3/15/10)

- WAC 296-126-015 Wage rates under special certificates. Employers shall compute the wage rates under special certificates as follows:
- (1) ((Physically and mentally handicapped employees: At a rate designed to adequately reflect the employees' earning capacity.
- $\frac{(2)}{(2)}$)) Learners: At $((\frac{\text{eighty-five}}{\text{five}}))$ 85 percent of the applicable minimum wage rate.
- $((\frac{3}{3}))$ <u>(2)</u> Student-learner: At $(\frac{\text{seventy-five}}{1})$ percent of the applicable minimum wage rate.

Note: See chapter 49.46 RCW and chapter 296-128 WAC for minimum wage laws.

AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 89-10-014, filed 4/24/89, effective 6/1/89)

- WAC 296-126-020 Minimum wages—Minors. Except where a higher minimum wage is required by Washington state or federal law:
- (1) Every employer shall pay to each of his or her employees who have reached their ((sixteenth or seventeenth)) 16th or 17th year of age a rate of pay per hour which is equal to the hourly rate required by RCW 49.46.020 for employees ((eighteen)) 18 years of age or older, whether computed on an hourly, commission, piecework, or other basis, except as may be otherwise provided under this chapter.
- (2) Every employer shall pay to each of his or her employees who have not reached their ((sixteenth)) 16th year of age a rate of pay per hour that is not less than ((eighty-five)) 85 percent of the hourly rate required by RCW 49.46.020 for employees ((eighteen)) 18 years

of age or older whether computed on an hourly, commission, piecework, or other basis, except as may be otherwise provided under this chapter.

(((3) These provisions shall not apply to handicapped minors for whom special handicapped minor work permits have been issued as provided in RCW 49.12.110. The handicapped rate therein shall be set at a rate designed to adequately reflect the individual's earning capacity.))

[2] OTS-5439.1

REPEALER

The following sections of the Washington Administrative Code are repealed:

WAC	296-128-050	Applicability of this regulation.
WAC	296-128-055	Definition.
WAC	296-128-060	Application for certificate.
WAC	296-128-065	Conditions for granting a certificate.
WAC	296-128-070	Issuance of certificate.
WAC	296-128-075	Terms of certificate.
WAC	296-128-080	Renewal of certificate.
WAC	296-128-085	Review.
WAC	296-128-090	Amendment of this regulation.